We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let Down Only By The Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Resolution Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Resolution Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Let Down Only By The Breakfast”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I've just returned from a one-night stay at this hotel and it's hard to fault it really. In fact, the two main problems were both things that could have been avoided, which makes them all the more of a shame.

The first problem was that the hotel had already charged my card prior to arrival, which is in breach of Booking.com's terms and conditions and they really ought not to have done this.

The second problem was that the full English breakfast was quite lacking, let down in particular by the bacon looking anaemic and being absolutely stone cold.

I've mentioned the problems first to get them out of the way because everything else was great. The staff were friendly and helpful; the room was really tastefully decorated and with a wonderful view of Whitby and the abbey; the shower was really hot (although the door did leak into the bathroom); the room's furniture was of good quality - pretty much everything was brilliant.

If I wanted to be really picky I'd say that although the complimentary tea and coffee facilities were well stocked, there was hardly any white sugar (the rest being Demerara), and only one of the coffee sachets was not decaf. Also, the curtains kept out practically no light.

They do feel like petty annoyances, though, as all in all the hotel was one to recommend and I'm sure you'd enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MouthyMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    411
    195
    55
    44
See reviews for
87
696
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We received a warm welcome and went to our very large room. It has everything you needed and was clean. We were told when checking in that there was a live band on that night until 11pm which didn't bother us.

There is no parking onsite but there is a reasonable priced public car park very close by. The hotel is very well situated in Whitby being close to everything.

Unfortunately the live entertainment didn't finish until after 12 which meant by the time everyone had cleared out it was 1am when things were quiet enough to get some sleep. In the morning we had showers in the basic but large bathroom in which the mirror light didn't work and went down for breakfast.

The breakfast was very disappointing and we left it to get something else to eat out in Whitby.

Room Tip: I would suggest room on one of the top floors with a view rather than over the entrance to the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have stayed in Whitby 5 or 6 times and the hotels we have stayed in have all been really good but he Resolution to us was just that little bit above the rest. Warm welcome, good directions to off site car park, room spacious clean with no fussy decor. Bathroom excellent, bed comfortable. Breakfast good selection of cereals, cooked items done to order ( we were a party of 4, we all had different every morning). Even though our room was above the bar by 11.30 everything was over and everything quiet. Only one slight moan there were no windows that we were able to open. But it did not spoil our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Last minute booking so not sure what to expect. Pleasantly surprised. Well equipped room, clean and well laid out. Bed comfortable. Light over the sink in the bathroom not working but to be honest it wasnt a major issue as we were only there one night. Plenty of coffee/tea/biscuits provided. Individual toiletries laid out and great shower. Website says can be noisy up to 11 as the bar is below. That wouldn't have bothered us as we would be up late anyway but no noise heard later. Staff were polite and friendly, clear directions to local parking which is available at reasonable price and is only 100 yards or so up the road from the hotel.
I found breakfast in the bar fine, good selection of cereals, pastries, toast and preserves, fresh fruit, with choice of hot breakfast - partner had full English I picked items from the menu - eggs etc cooked to your preference. Service quick and food hot.
No time to try the Vault restaurant downstairs as we had already booked our meal out. Would definitely try next time. Hotel is pretty central for everything - would recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MillyRoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

It sometimes amazes me when all the hard work that goes into running a successful business is let down at the last minute by lack of attention in one single area. First of all the rooms and staff were excellent, great location and a fine view across the harbour and to the abbey . We also had the most fantastic meal in the Vault restaurant , which makes my next paragraph even more unbelievable.

The breakfast next morning was below the standard I would expect from an establishment that had produced such a fine meal the night before. Overcooked fried egg, undercooked bacon , cheap bread for toast and the complete inability to cook a poached egg that did not have a rubbery white and overpowering taste of vinegar. The meal was also lukewarm, we aimed to privide feedback when checking out, but the receptionist was engaged on the phone and we had to leave. Please please engage your evening chef in upskilling the breakfast team in how to cook.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Anon1966363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Location was easy to find, but there is no parking associated with the hotel itself. The hotel is part of a pub/bar and shares staff for the reception - staff were not always prompt when rung, as not specifically looking after check-ins or hotel guests, but also tending the bar. However, the staff were friendly when about.

The room was large ish, and furniture was solid, bed comfy. and bathroom well laid out. Someone had clearly made an effort to provide a modern feel, but everything was slightly worn and frayed. The worst problem was the emergency/fire light in the ceiling above the bed - a small green LED, imperceptible during the day, pretty much lit the room at night. Very bizarre. As a result, and because the curtains were thin, sleep was difficult.

Breakfast was in the bar, which was well-used and well layed out. Staff were great, and food quality and choice of a reasonable standard. We did not manage to get any staff to come to help us check out however, so we left the key-card unattended on the desk and left.

At just under £49 pppn, the price was okay, but we had just stayed in Durham at a higher quality place for the same price, and The Resolution did not compare favourably.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back, away from the busy front street and pubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TangoAdMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Had two nights bed, breakfast and evening meal.

The hotel has two eating establishments, the bar and also the Vault restaurant. The deal provided dinner in either which was fantastic as the Vault is a highly rated restaurant in Whitby.

Great staff, very friendly and nothing too much trouble for them.

Room had a view over the river and across the water up to the Abbey. The town and its famous fish and chips were a few minutes walk away and parking was a bonus at £9 for 48 hrs with daily "in and out" access.

We will be back

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieandStuartWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,939 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
974 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resolution Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resolution Hotel

Property: Resolution Hotel
Address: 1 Skinner Street, Whitby YO21 3AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Resolution Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Resolution Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resolution Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing