We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding anniversary hotel stay”
Review of Resolution Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Resolution Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

3 night stay very large room and very large bathroom immaculate clean modern and awesome breakfast , help yourself cereals, fruits, pastries and full English included plus live entertainment nightly . Will definitely be going again .

Room Tip: Book direct with hotel and get discounts and best price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

787 - 793 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

We enjoyed an amazing night at revolution. The standard & quality of the furniture was second to none, totally spotless too- great view of the abbey from bedroom. Staff were friendly & helpful & had arranged balloons & banners in the room for my partners birthday (just paid on check out). Breakfast was great, nice buffet choices and table service for cooked food. The bar area is large & modern with lots of comfy seating and there was a band on at the night time. Literally 2 minute walk down the hill to the center. A friend had recommended this hotel & we will definatley be back! thank you revolution for a great stay.

Room Tip: we stayed on 3rd floor - great view of the abbey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vezzag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We spent one night at the Resolution on a deal bought with Groupon for £49 for two of us with breakfast, a fantastic deal. The location of the hotel is excellent, right in the middle of Whitby, an ideal place to explore from. Parking was £5 per 24 hours in a street a few hundred yards to the rear of the hotel, which is a little difficult to find in the one-way system around the hotel and up a very narrow lane. Room was a lovely size, with double aspect windows over the harbour and abbey in the distance. Furnishings were solid quality and the bed was comfy, all lovely and clean. Bathroom was small but perfectly adequate, with a shower cubicle rather than a bath, very clean if a little tired around the edges. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend for a couple of nights stay.

Room Tip: We had a room on 3rd floor, overlooking the church with a view to the harbour and abbey beyond. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeanneFraserCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

It was all very average and for £80-90 per night it was really not up to standard. Our room was very very small - not a room that should have been classed as a double room and it was not at all comfortable. Our friend's room was very spacious so (for the same price) but the management were not very helpful when I complained about it - so make sure you ask before accepting the room (or better still look at other hotel).

Room Tip: Ask about the size of your room as they vary greatly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spudyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We wanted bed and breakfast at a central hotel with three en-suite twin rooms at a good price on Cup Final weekend. My friend checked the Resolution site and said these were available. I booked them on my debit card and forgot about it. I rang with a week to go and confirmed the booking. We arrived, we ate, we drank, we slept and we left. It has everything you could want for a short or long stay. Clean, modern, comfortable rooms and beds along with friendly and helpful staff. I would certainly return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OLDBRITDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent base if staying in whitby staff couldn't be more helpful upgraded to four poster captains room n must admit was fantastic after we checked out a few hours later we realised we had left our Samsung tablet in the rpom so went back expecting the worst but none of it tablet returned when could have expected"no sorry not here!" Certainly go back next time in whitby Paul n jill from Sunderland

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ralphy1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Great location, did miss the on site parking but car park at top of road did the trick. Stayed for 2 nights over the BH weekend - in room 209, very nicely done, clean, new and comfortable, and all we needed. Nice large shower though by 8pm on Saturday evening it was running cool. Staff fine, polite and available. Bar service good and decent atmosphere on the Saturday night till late - very busy. Breakfast, good choice and I thought very good and was hot, but tiny slice of bacon ! We ate at the Vault on the lower floor Sunday evening (Saturday was fully booked), was very impressed with the set menu for £25 each. Waiting staff were excellent and nothing too much trouble. Very master chef, felt full but not stuffed after 4 courses and good choice of wine. £7 supplement for the cheese board that comes with port well worth it ! Overall good stay, not the cheapest and am sure could have found some of the boutique B & B's at a better price, but then they do not offer the fuller on site hotel service - would go back.

Room Tip: room 209 good view over the Abbey. Quiet no street or bar noise but beware of the Seagull alarm from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,129 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 20 in Whitby
1,203 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.1 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
647 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resolution Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resolution Hotel

Address: 1 Skinner Street, Whitby YO21 3AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range: £43 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Resolution Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Resolution Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resolution Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing