We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,337)
Filter reviews
1,337 results
Traveller rating
453
513
248
65
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
453
513
248
65
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgroupon dealwhirlpool bathtoastscratch cardskinner streetfull englishfour posterwould stay againcentral locationstreet parkingfirst floorone night stayan evening mealtea and coffeeposter bedgreat showerthe pub
Filter
Updating list...
929 - 934 of 1,337 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Nice location near the centre of old Whitby. Car parking nearby (once you find it) - the staff were very helpful on check-in to give directions to local car parks. However - the rooms we and our friends had on the second floor weren't great. Nice views of the abbey - but looked like they had been hurriedly re-decorated. Damp mould around the shower and lack of shelving and very small sink let down the bathroom. Bare walls in the bedroom - but at least we did have a wall mirror unlike our friends next door. Creaky hard bed and a window that didn't open properly. The breakfast was poor - soggy undercooked bacon, eggs that tasted like they had been poached in vinegar and cold mushrooms. Having paid over £100 per room in advance we expected better. There are better value B&Bs in Whitby - we'll be trying one of those next time.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank BeeDeeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We spent one night in the hotel and our experience was pretty good. Room was clean and fresh and the view of the Abbey from our room was great. Car parking is a ball ache but you have to expect this in Whitby.

Breakfast was good and the staff were very helpful.

The Vault restaurant wasn't as good as we expected. The duck dish ordered was not the same as the menu outlined. The lamb dish had two types of lamb on it. One was too rare and had lots of fat and the other was dry and overcooked.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here again for a night great rooms great staff and if you can get a Groupon deal even better if not it's still great value for money.breakfast is good with a wide choice and better still it's 2 mins from Whitby harbour and all the attractions. Ask about the car park round the back you have to pay but it's reasonable prices x

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kellyjel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Nice Hotel close to main attractions, standard room but clean and nicely decorated, the Hotel is old so you expect the odd defects here and there associated with age, friendly staff, lift to rooms, parking nearby, short walk to sea front, excellent breakfast, I would stay again we had room 202 very quiet had a goodnights sleep. I would recommend this Hotel in the heart of Whitby.

Room Tip: Room 202 very quiet, had bath and shower.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here for the first time in may and had mixed feelings as what to expect from the reviews I had read.
Our room was.... well sad! In much need of some TLC. The walls were all marked, plaster board missing and the whole decor had seen 'better days'.
We ate in the Vault restaurant on the evening and this was also of poor standards.
And to top things off I left an expensive facial cleanser machine in the shower cubical, when I rang the hotel to ask if housekeeping had seen it when cleaning the room...... The response I received was no nothing had been handed in! Hmm! Lots of far better hotel/b&bs to stay at in Whitby.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gardener_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
a_delahunty, Owner at Resolution Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Customer,

Every person has a right an opinion and we would ordinarily be sympathetic, however the insinuation here is offensive. We have hundreds of items left in the hotel each year and in most cases it is us calling the customer to notify them in the hope they are still in the Whitby. Finally with great respect we would have little use for a second hand facial cleanser, expensive or not.

Regardless of this we will still look into your comments as we are constantly upgrading the hotel. I am aware there are still some rooms with work to do but do not agree that it merits this sort of review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews