We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Resolution Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Resolution Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed one night mid- week on a KGB b&b deal which was good value for Whitby & also because many places will not accept a one night booking.
All staff were very friendly, particularly the waitress at breakfast.
Our Room on the first floor still gave us a view of the Abbey & was quite large but very basic.
There is limited storage space which would be a problem if staying longer.
The bed was extremely comfortable & the towels were huge & wonderfully soft! Plenty of tea & coffee available in the room. My only issue was the lack of space to put anything in the bathroom - no shelving, toiletries had to go on the floor.
Breakfast was good with sufficient choice.
All in all a good place to stay for a couple of nights but would want more comfort if staying longer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JillD09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

735 - 741 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Last year my family enjoyed a fantastic stay at the Resolution Hotel so when deciding upon a venue for a family weekend away this year for my husbands side of the family l thought that to stay here again was a no brainer- WRONG.
The rooms were fine and have been refurbished that was a positive point however there were several negative aspects to our stay which outweighed this.
First of all the overpowering smell of sewerage in the raised dining area, which was more than a little offputting when you are eating breakfast or even sat having a drink. We received several explanations from the staff when we complained about this which varied from problems with the flat roof to blocked sewers. The management solution to this was to put a few gel airfreshners here and there which were completely inaffective.
Secondly on the first morning of our stay there were several items from the breakfast menu not available as they had run out. The breakfast choice was very poor especially for those who would opt for a continental breakfast. The was a choice of 2 cereals Weetabix or muesli - that was it. Toffee yoghurts- no other flavour available. No fresh fruit.
On Saturday night the bar ran out of several drinks. It was also stiflingly hot in the there .We were told that we could not have the windows open as the noise from the band may disturb local residents. So we all had to cook instead.

All in all the stay was disappointing, we will not be returning or recommending this hotel. Frankly I felt embarrassed to have recommended the Resolution Hotel so enthusiastically to my husbands family. They too were very disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarebo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

just returned from a 2 night stay,Really pleased with the room and en suite, although it was small it was adequate, did have several damp patches on the walls but maybe expected for an old building. Staff seemed friendly and the bar area was quiet but pleasant.
Breakfast the first morning was lovely, served quickly, everything tasted fresh and tables were cleared quickly, however the second morning for some unknown reason breakfast was awful, husbands arrived with no fried bread, no sausages, (told later they had run out of sausages) mine arrived with the scrambled egg almost raw, i asked them to take it back as i was unable to eat it and i was asked if i would like it warmed up and re plated!!! No, I would like a fresh breakfast, I wished i had kept the original one,Other customers coming in after me where being served while i sat waiting, by the time mine arrived my husband had finished, eggs were cooked fine this time but the beans were cold and i had half a microwaved tomato and a hard piece of bacon that had been in the microwave to warm up, i ended up having jam on toast. To make matters worse, our table was not cleared and we felt we were being ignored because we had questioned the raw eggs.We packed up and handed our key in but was not asked if our stay was enjoyable etc, such a shame as it started off well, so basically, not a bad hotel and staff are friendly as long as you don't question anything!

Room Tip: we had a 3rd floor room, fabulous views but ask for a chair so you can actually sit and enjoy them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank denise b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed at the Resolution for 1 night earlier this month (18th July) and paid for the four poster room thru Booking.com
A bit disappointing with regard to the room - it just wasn't finished! The mattress was too small for the bed well - the four poster wasn't dressed off with drapes just the bare screws - the damp was showing thru the painted walls.
On the plus side the bathroom had been recently refurbished and was very good.
The staff were very helpful and cheerful.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

we enjoyed our stay at this centrally located hotel, food was good and very reasonably priced, staff were helpful and friendly, only problem we had was lack of parking, in fact the hotel has no car park at all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank philip l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Now this hotel is not five start, but it is comfortable, staff are a pleasure to talk to, all very polite and helpful. We went on a kgb deal, excellent value, our room was adequate, and clean. I e mailed the hotel asking for a room on third floor overlooking the harbour etc. and I got exactly what I asked for and I call that excellent customer service and thank you. Could not say a great deal about the pub, it was very quiet and lacking atmosphere, although we did go on a Sunday.
It is a great location 5 mins walk into the town. Re car park to me its not a problem, it is just at the back of the hotel, and £5.00 for 24 hours, not going to rob the bank. All in all we had a pleasant stay, yes the sea gulls are a bl.........dy nuisance, but that is not the hotels fault. We did have a fan in our room, and it was quite noisy, but hubby sorted it. If looking for 5 star dont stop here, but if you want a cheap hotel, with lovely pleasant staff and a clean room give it a go

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank linda2360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just returned from an overnight stay in Whitby booked this hotel last minute and we were not disappointed for the price we paid. Reception area was a bit dated and walking up the stairs to our room we were a bit unsure but on entering the room we were pleasantly surprised. I think the room must have been recently refurbished as it smelt very new. Lovely comfortable bed nice bathroom lovely furniture we didn't have a view but we were only sleeping in the room. The only downside was the seagull tapping on our window but that added to the ambiance of the seaside! Breakfast was lovely freshly cooked. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is right in the centre so yes parking is difficult but you can drop your bags off and the car park is a short walk away £5 for 24 hours isn't bad. Would we return? Yes definitely :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#1 of 20 in Whitby
2,095 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,164 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
638 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resolution Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resolution Hotel

Address: 1 Skinner Street, Whitby YO21 3AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range: £51 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Resolution Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Resolution Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resolution Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing