We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“whitby 2012”
Review of Grantley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grantley House
Ranked #124 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We have just got back after a 2 night stay in room 8, lovely room with leather settee and a huge flat screen tv. Big on suite with a large shower. Justin can't do enough to make sure you have everything you need even camamile tea and fresh brewed coffee, good breakfast with different fruits and cereal. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank downesdownes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Grantley House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2011

we enjoyed a 3 night stay at Grantley House for our first trip to Whitby. Very suprised to see how nice the rooms were, we had rooms 6 and 7 on the very top floor. Rooms were excellent, with good TV's, a very nice en-suite and a suitable wardrobe. Extras in the room for tea/coffee were also very good. The food we had for breakfast was of an excellent standard, with polite staff and a wide choice of food to pre order for breakfast the next day. Was my first time in Whitby, and Grantley House made my stay very enjoyable. 5/5 :)

Room Tip: romms 6 and 7 are great as they are the only rooms on that floor. no disturbances :)
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We had a 2 night stay at Grantley house and really enjoyed our visit, we had room 9 and 8 and both rooms were great and our bed was very comfy,my mum wanted to take her's home :), Breakfast was top nosh,never went without.Grantley house is in the perfect location and excellent value for money and will defo visit again,

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

we had a 2 night stay at the grantley house hotel the proprietors were warm an welcoming we had 2 twin rooms both were spotless in the morming breakfast was lovely full english if you wanted it well cooked

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Really enjoyed our visit to Grantley House, Hudson Street,in Whitby. Great welcome and Justin did all he could to make us feel at home. Very lovely old house in a quiet street, with wonderful fireplaces and chandeliers.

Breakfast menu was extensive and the fresh fruit salad was yummy. The main cooked breakfast was beautifully presented and plentiful, with coffee and tea refreshed when requested.

Our room was extremely comfortable, with a four poster bed, and the ensuite was fabulous: contemporary and roomy.

Parking could have been an issue for elderly visitors, but Justin organised for his car to be moved to accommodate my in-laws vehicle on arrival, immediately outside of the building, which, for people in their late seventies, was a huge bonus.

Excellent value for money and we would certainly visit again without hesitation.

Novel place to eat is the pie, mash and pea shop, over the bridge and down the road opposite Church Street. 'Humble pie and mash', or the pub just around the corner. Turn right outside Grantley House, down to the end of the road and turn right again at the junction. Approximately 300 mtrs on the right, just past Peter's newsagents.

Thanks Justin and all the staff for a great experience of Whitby.

Hilary Ayling

Room Tip: Room 8 is wonderful for those looking for a romantic trip away
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilary95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

stayed in room 9 for 3 nights mid sept. The location on a quiet street was perfect for getting about without the need for a car, fantastic views and seating areas round every corner. Lovely room and very comfy bed. Breakfast was amazing and abundant ( we had to scale our order down by day 3).
Without a doubt the best thing about Grantley house Is Justin & Co. Nothing was too much trouble, we would definately stay there again. It would be a great place to spend christmas with it's warm welcome and good company.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank debbie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

stayed here for one night. Got room 6 which is at top of house, so you need to be fit to climb the stairs! Quirky, clean room. Great location to walk into town. Obv parking is really hard to find. We ended up finding a big car park behind the church which was £5 for 24 hrs. Met the lovely landlady in the morning for a lovely breakfast. Would recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyTravelsJoWatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 152 in Whitby
605 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dillons of Whitby
Dillons of Whitby
#5 of 152 in Whitby
712 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pinewood Guesthouse
Pinewood Guesthouse
#76 of 152 in Whitby
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beaches Guest House
Beaches Guest House
#97 of 152 in Whitby
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 152 in Whitby
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arches Guesthouse
Arches Guesthouse
#26 of 152 in Whitby
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grantley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grantley House

Address: 26 Hudson Street, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £75 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grantley House 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely Victorian house retaining many original features, managed by resident owners offering a high standard of service and cleanliness. Convenient for the beach and the town centre, it's an ideal place to stay and take a relaxing break. 4 Star rated, all double rooms and family rooms are en-suite with central heating, colour TV with Sky Freeview, radio alarm, hairdryer and hospitality tray. Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grantley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grantley House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing