We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“None Starter”
Review of Grantley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grantley House
Ranked #122 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Today i arrived with my husband to stay at this b+b at the time they stated to arrive, when we got there we couldn't get parked anywhere within about a 10 minute walk, we explained this to the owner and said because we couldn't get parked we wouldn't be able to stay,he showed no sympathy with the situation we found ourselves in and simply stropped to us "Tough you booked a room not a parking pace absolutely no chance whatsoever of having a refund" this was supposed to be a nice break away after my husband was made redundant yesterday and it is our anniversary today, this was our first and last visit to Whitby and would strongly advise against this b+b. I feel stupid now been left £70 plus petrol expenses down and nothing to show for it other than tears + sickness with the stress.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justme4039, Owner at Grantley House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

I find it quite astounding that you have posted this review, as the majority is not true!
You did arrive at the guest house at the time YOU said YOU were going to arrive, we do not stipulate arrival times. Your husband came to the door to say you had arrived and to ask where was the best place to park, whilst we were advising of possible parking spaces you wound down your window and started shouting the odds, that you were not staying if there was nowhere to park, we then started to advise you where possible parking spaces would be, you chose not to listen and just keep shouting over us that you would not be staying if you could not park, at no time was the word "tough" used by us, although we did point out that you had booked a room with us. You then drove off, we waited in all day for you, as at no time did you tell us for sure you were not staying, we booked the room in good faith for you and kept the room vacant in case you arrived later after parking and having a walk around town, therefore we did not refund your booking as not being able to park less than 10 minutes away is not a valid reason for a refund, we have a business to run and bills to pay, we cannot afford to have empty rooms in the height of the season.
We are sorry if you do not agree with our refund policy, but we do have a business to run.,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

We had rooms 6 and 7 on a recent visit. One of these was a family room and the standard of furnishing did not seem to match that found elsewhere on the property ini that it was steel framed bedding that tended to creak and groan a bit. There was a double bed and a set of bunk beds, though we only needed the double bed. However, one of the most challenging aspects of this room was that whilst there was an attempt to put in blinds and curtains, the layout was such that this was very difficult and so being late June, the sun tended to make the room very light until quite late at night and again from very early in the morning. The other room was much nicer and had full blackout blinds. It too is in the 'attic' and so half the room can be difficult to access if you are very tall or can't bend down significantly. As could be expected with rooms at the very top of the property the advice of 'pack light' would be well advised as there are a lot of stairs to negotiate.

The owner was very helpful and went out of his way to help people. Similarly the breakfast was very nice and set us up for the day.

If you can get a room in one of the other floors I think that this would be a great option for a visit to Whitby.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Big_swim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We have just got back after a 2 night stay in room 8, lovely room with leather settee and a huge flat screen tv. Big on suite with a large shower. Justin can't do enough to make sure you have everything you need even camamile tea and fresh brewed coffee, good breakfast with different fruits and cereal. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank downesdownes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

we enjoyed a 3 night stay at Grantley House for our first trip to Whitby. Very suprised to see how nice the rooms were, we had rooms 6 and 7 on the very top floor. Rooms were excellent, with good TV's, a very nice en-suite and a suitable wardrobe. Extras in the room for tea/coffee were also very good. The food we had for breakfast was of an excellent standard, with polite staff and a wide choice of food to pre order for breakfast the next day. Was my first time in Whitby, and Grantley House made my stay very enjoyable. 5/5 :)

Room Tip: romms 6 and 7 are great as they are the only rooms on that floor. no disturbances :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We had a 2 night stay at Grantley house and really enjoyed our visit, we had room 9 and 8 and both rooms were great and our bed was very comfy,my mum wanted to take her's home :), Breakfast was top nosh,never went without.Grantley house is in the perfect location and excellent value for money and will defo visit again,

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

we had a 2 night stay at the grantley house hotel the proprietors were warm an welcoming we had 2 twin rooms both were spotless in the morming breakfast was lovely full english if you wanted it well cooked

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Really enjoyed our visit to Grantley House, Hudson Street,in Whitby. Great welcome and Justin did all he could to make us feel at home. Very lovely old house in a quiet street, with wonderful fireplaces and chandeliers.

Breakfast menu was extensive and the fresh fruit salad was yummy. The main cooked breakfast was beautifully presented and plentiful, with coffee and tea refreshed when requested.

Our room was extremely comfortable, with a four poster bed, and the ensuite was fabulous: contemporary and roomy.

Parking could have been an issue for elderly visitors, but Justin organised for his car to be moved to accommodate my in-laws vehicle on arrival, immediately outside of the building, which, for people in their late seventies, was a huge bonus.

Excellent value for money and we would certainly visit again without hesitation.

Novel place to eat is the pie, mash and pea shop, over the bridge and down the road opposite Church Street. 'Humble pie and mash', or the pub just around the corner. Turn right outside Grantley House, down to the end of the road and turn right again at the junction. Approximately 300 mtrs on the right, just past Peter's newsagents.

Thanks Justin and all the staff for a great experience of Whitby.

Hilary Ayling

Room Tip: Room 8 is wonderful for those looking for a romantic trip away
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilary95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.4 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#18 of 20 in Whitby
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hudsons
Hudsons
#10 of 20 in Whitby
320 reviews
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#20 of 152 in Whitby
622 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
138 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grantley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grantley House

Address: 26 Hudson Street, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £77 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grantley House 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely Victorian house retaining many original features, managed by resident owners offering a high standard of service and cleanliness. Convenient for the beach and the town centre, it's an ideal place to stay and take a relaxing break. 4 Star rated, all double rooms and family rooms are en-suite with central heating, colour TV with Sky Freeview, radio alarm, hairdryer and hospitality tray. Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grantley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grantley House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing