We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Grantley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grantley House
Ranked #125 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed in a twin room for 3 nights booked through booking.com. We had to check in by ringing a mobile number but the process, although impersonal, was easy enough. Our room was right at the top, a little unfortunate that only one window opened making it quite hot but there was at least a fan. The room itself was clean & tidy and the shower room although small was perfectly adequate for what we wanted. Anyone who stays must remember to take a full set of toiletries including soap as none is supplied in the room but the usual tea/coffee facilities are there. Be aware though that if you use a hairdryer there isn't a plug socket near the mirror which is a little frustrating and the TV only plays ITV. It perhaps would have been nice to have had the room cleaned every other day but having stayed in a few guesthouses across the country its a little hit and miss in that respect. Breakfast was good with a decent amount of choice, an excellent array of fresh fruit, yogurts & cereals as well as full English breakfast, bacon/sausage butties and smoked salmon. The usual tea/coffee and fruit/herbal teas alongside a range of juices made it a good start to the day. There is a parking permit included in your little welcoming pack which, considering the price of parking, is a nice touch but it would have been nice to have some 2014 leaflets of the area rather than those from last year. Be aware of the seagulls, yes this is a seaside place, but the seagulls are extremely noisy especially at night. On the whole you get what you pay for, if you want something superior I would suggest you stay at some overpriced hotel, if not and you just need a place to sleep and a good breakfast then this place is perfectly acceptable.

Room Tip: If you struggle with stairs then don't stay in room 6 or 7 as they are on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    23
    14
    11
    12
See reviews for
15
80
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I booked this b & b last minute with booking.com without reading trip advisor. I agree with most of the comments posted. Other than the guy who served us breakfast and took our payment we never saw the owner. Key and parking permit were left behind the front door because the owner was working somewhere else. The entrance hall and landing is shabby and dated as is the whole interior. Our room at the top of the three floor building had a tiny bathroom with poor quality fixtures and fittings. The breakfast was good quality with a good selection which is preordered. I have posted my views on booking .com but unfortunately only the positive comments are visible. Lesson learned read trip advisor before making a booking.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwhysall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed at Grantley House for three nights two weeks ago. Our advise is: Don't go there if you don't have to. The room was not cleaned while we stayed there. Towels, cups and glasses were not changed and the garbage was not removed neither from the bathroom nor the bedroom. The owners dogs were barking outside our window at all hours. There were lots of flies in our room, probably because of the dog manure in the back yard outside our room. The manager was not present and he did not answer our calls or messages. Whitby is a nice place to visit so next time we go there we will pick a nice B&B to stay at.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Børre Peder B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at the Grantley for the Whitby Weekender...we were made to feel very welcome. Great breakfasts, ideal location with lovely clean rooms. First in last out pub was a great laugh too!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John MacFarlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My Husband & I stayed at this B & B for just one night, thank goodness. The smell of dogs and disinfectant hits you as soon as you walk through the front door, not good. That was after I had phoned the number as instructed and spoken to the owner who advised that our key had been left for us along with a parking permit. The room itself was nicely decorated, but the housekeeping leaves a lot to be desired ! Cobwebs and general dust and dirt, especially under the unit housing the basin. There were also stray black hairs on the bedding and bedside unit. The shower room or cupboard as we called it was so small and again not very clean. We found it very claustrophobic and showering was not a pleasant experience. The breakfast was very good, but I wish that they would use larger plates instead of trying to cram everything onto a small plate, it would look so much nicer and be much easier to actually eat. The location and breakfast were good but these plus points far out weigh the many minus poits.

Room Tip: Just don't bother going
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed at this bed & breakfast on 26/06/14. On arrival nobody was present at the property - just a note asking for customers to ring a mobile phone number (lucky we had a phone and signal!). The owner/manager informed us that staff, at his other business had not turned in so he had to work there. We asked about the on street parking which was limited to 2 hours - we were assured that we would receive a parking voucher and in addition our key had been left behind the door!!!
Despite frequently checking the car and for the return of the owner/manager we never received this voucher nor sight of any staff.
Our room was room 4 - Shower head fitting was broken and was stuck with BLU TAC ( with the intention I think was to try to keep this in place) - obviously this didn't work. Once wet, the shower head fell, hitting my partner! The cubicle was filthy with mouldy silicone and grouting, the towel rail was broken, holes in the wall and finally the shower door didn't close properly - this is allegedly a 4 star accommodation ! The bedroom carpet hadn't seen a vac for a number of days however on the plus side the bedding was lovely and clean - phew!!
Information left in the room stated to ring the bell situated outside the dining area should we need any assistance. Great we thought maybe we can get the room changed or at least cleaned properly and shower fixed.................. no bell where stated or anywhere else. When we queried this after breakfast the following day we were informed this had been removed two weeks prior!!!!
Throughout our stay we never saw a member of staff other than when our breakfast was served and asking for our money on (departure day!!), We certainly will not be returning to this accommodation and suggest booking.com inspect the establishments they advertise on a more regular basis.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BIG-G5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We booked into the Grantley for an overnight stay, on entering the house, which i had to ring the bell, this was early afternoon, i was greeted by a young friendly man, but there was another older man sitting on the stairs, who wasn't at all friendly, don't know who he was, looked like a workman. We was lucky to be able to park outside as i know how difficult it is with parking in Whitby. The young man gave us our key and said 'your room is number 4, he didn't even bother to show us up there. On entering our room on first sight it looked quite nice, but unfortunately, it was quite shabby round the edges, knob missing from bedside table, knob missing from shower cubicle, bathroom shelf wonky, couldn't stand anything on it, towel rail handing off wall, edges and skirting in bathroom were dirty, paint chipped on door and basically around the bedroom skirting too. Windows dirty and the paint peeling off them. Light in room was very dusty and out of 5 bulbs only 3 worked. The hallway and stairs were shabby too. This may have had a facelift at some point but it's certainly not looked after now. The only saving grace was the extremely good breakfast. The room price of £70 per night was not worth it. should be at least £50. Won't be returning here and would not recommend it

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummywarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wentworth Guest House
Wentworth Guest House
#111 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#7 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Woodside Villa
Woodside Villa
#87 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grantley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grantley House

Property: Grantley House
Address: 26 Hudson Street, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grantley House 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely Victorian house retaining many original features, managed by resident owners offering a high standard of service and cleanliness. Convenient for the beach and the town centre, it's an ideal place to stay and take a relaxing break. 4 Star rated, all double rooms and family rooms are en-suite with central heating, colour TV with Sky Freeview, radio alarm, hairdryer and hospitality tray. Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grantley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grantley House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing