We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHABBY ROOMS SHABBY SERVICE”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Hotel
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Reviewed 20 July 2008

Arrived no front desk, went into the bar and myself and aunt were totally ignored at first, we then checked in at the bar, along with men drinking etc, not a good impression to start with, first impressions seem to last.

Pointed to our room, what a BIG LET DOWN the rooms look tired and shabby, although it was clean, we felt the place is lacking in good decor and furnishings, seemed to me very low budget more like a run down old inn.....not for me,

First impressions and lasting impressions would not return.
Would rather go into a more updated hotel that are fully aware of what guests needs WHO IS THE MANAGER? VERY ABRUPT AND VERY NEGATIVE NEEDS TRAINING IN CUSTOMER SERVICE.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smitthysharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for The George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2008

stayed here with a group of girls over the bank holiday weekend and had a fab time.
hotel was dead central,rooms were clean breakfast was really good with alot to choose from,bar was loud but that didnt bother us.
i was really worried after reading the reviews on here but can honestly say it was fine.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrs_mozTyneAndWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2008

Can only echo all of the negative comments below really. Couldn't belive it when we had to check in at bar and yes, just pointed in roughly the right direction.
We found the hotel to be of a poor standard - it was shabby and there was definately a smell. The cot was still there along with what I can only assume was piles of dirty linen which was still there when we left the next day.
Website does say that noise can be heard from nightclub but we assumed, wrongly, Sunday would be different. No nightclub but instead Kareoke in the bar until 1.00am. No point in trying to sleep so we stayed up thinking we would have lie in as they were not serving breakfast.
Our room was at the front of hotel and we were woken just after 6.30am by the banging of scaffolding being erected. We assumed it was on another close by building and couldn't believe it when we realised it was going up on this building just a few feet away from our window! Needless to say we couldn't sleep, so got up, had a manky shower and left. Had to check out with a cleaner so no point in trying to complain.
Only thing good to say is that the location is good and the pub is good. Spend the evening at the pub but stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank tracyKettering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2008

Just had a great weekend here no problems as given in previous reviews. Narrow corridors, what do you expect with an old property, there is a seperate entrace to the hotel area although you booked in at the bar? Breakfast was hot and freshly prepared. Rooms clean though a little tired. The pub/disco stayed open till 2am, no problems as we were the last ones in there anyway. Just ask not to go in room 10 as the air conditioning fan is 6ft from the bedroom window it turns off at 3am and comes on again at 6am.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jaydeeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2008

Our frist holiday as a couple, I stayed five nights with my fiance three years back. Found the room clean and airy, no problems. The ambiance was fun and quirky, probably best for a young couple like us! Breakfast...what can I say but FANTASTIC...EXTRA LARGE PORTIONS OF EVERYTHING!!! It is actually the same for an evening meal, I am a big eater and couldn't finish all (although believe me I wanted to!). LOCATION IS RIGHT NEAR THE STATION!!!! I really can't say anything bad about the place at all...maybe all that is bad is the ammount of weight we both gained from portions of delicious grub!

  • Stayed: August 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hairmetalharlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2007

On arrival at the George "hotel" we looked for the hotel entrance and unable to find it we walked into the bar. We were then checked in via the bar staff who were serving us and punters at the same time, then we paid up front for the room which is something I have not experienced since travelling in Europe when I was 17! We were handed the key fobs and pointed in the right direction. "can't be too bad maybe?" we thought . . . we were wrong!

On we went up, and up to our room through several flights of stairs, past the cot and poor fire doors mentioned earlier by the American reviewer, not always knowing if the way was clear as the lights kept going out owing to some of them being on a sensor.

Arriving into the room the heart sank even more! Faded decor, and shabbiness greeted us, then we were nearly knocked out by a strange smell. Also the carpet certainly needed vacuuming. On closer inspection it appeared as if there were some kind of insects attatched to the edges of the carpet. Picking several up they appeared to be dead. There appeared to be quite a few of these, I think they were some kind of bed bug or lice - but im no expert! This made for myself sleeping in my trousers and t shirt feeling quite uncomfortable.

The first night was fairly quiet with only the odd boy racer speeding around outside, however, on the second night it was a different experience . . .. Kareoke night downstairs until gone 1 am made for a noisy evening.

Breakfast was also only between 830-930 which was too late for the first day as the train we needed to catch for our day out left at 850! However we enjoyed a delicious cooked breakfast courtesy of the North Yorkshire Moors Railway at Grosmont Station. On the second day we needed sat nav to find the breakfast area in the "pub" region of the hotel. Breakfast was freshly cooked and the staff there were friendly.

Checkout . . . . . . where do we go ? who do we speak to?? ah yes! the cleaning lady, who after seeing us stood by the empty bar came to see what we wanted!

I would not recommend this bar with attatched sleeping quarters to anyone wanting a peaceful stay in Whitby.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank bc8478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2007

Our first impression of the George was negative. Our tour bus let us off at the door, and we went in to discover that there was no "front desk." Check in took place at the very crowded bar in the pub. Our group of 10 stood around in the very noisy bar with our suitcases, waiting up to 20 minutes to get up to the bar, to sign in and receive our keys.
From there it got worse. Even though a few in our group were in our 60's, there was no offer of help with bags. The girl at the bar just gave us our keys and pointed up the stairs!!! Our room was up FIVE flights of narrow stairs, through several narrow doorways, down a half-flight of stairs, through a corridor partially blocked by a crib stored in an alcove, and through another door. Some in our group were on an even higher floor!
Going down the narrow corridor to our room we passed a fire door, and noticed that it appeared to be NAILED SHUT! Posted instructions stated that, in case of fire, the only way out was back the way we came! No fire escape! No other exit route! If the George ever caught fire, no one above the second floor would survive. Anywhere in the US, the local fire marshals would shut the place down in an instant!!!

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RbrtH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,081 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,142 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.2 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hudsons
Hudsons
#10 of 20 in Whitby
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: 38 Baxtergate, Whitby YO21 1BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £47 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at The George Hotel in Whitby, we offer the ideal base from which to enjoy your stay in the beautiful seaside town of Whitby. Situated right in the heart of the town, everything you may want is within easy walking distance - from the marina and beaches, to museums and shops, and even the North Yorkshire Moors Railway.Come and sample our welcoming atmosphere, with friendly staff & comfortable surroundings. We have a lively hotel bar with several nights of entertainment, along with another bar which can be hired for private functions.You won’t miss out on any sporting moments as we have Sky Sports HD & BT Sports shown on large screens. We also offer a good range of wines & spirits at affordable prices & hand pull ale. Lavazza coffee is now available along with other hot beverages. Free Wi-fi is also available throughout the bar area and most hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing