We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The George Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hudsons(Whitby)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
46
75
63
38
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
75
63
38
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary breakfastopposite the railway stationladies toiletsdidn't hear any noisefourth floorpubs and restaurantsbank holidaycomfortable rooma lovely staytown centrecrumpetsseagullsharbourjamsabbey
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Some of these reviews are really unfair to The George. I have just stayed here, in one of the four non en suite rooms which is the top floor. Not ideal amount of stairs for a 3 1/2 & 1 1/2 yr old but I am the one that chose the shared bathroom! And actually we did not hear a peep from the til 2am weekend disco. Neither did my brother who was staying on the third floor.
Breakfast was toast, crumpets, cereals, juices, hot drinks, and a good choice of fruit.
Great location, right opposite the train station and a three minute walk to the bridge that links East and West Whitby.
The staff were very friendly and helpful - even offering to help carry the pushchair up the stairs for us!
May look like a bit of a dive when you first walk in, but actually the rooms are kept clean and at £25pppn for the shared bathroom, what a great price!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank mezelks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

From the outside the pub doesn't look much, but once inside it is a great oldy worldy pub with cheap beer if you go during a week day and very well kept. The rooms are great and roomy and tucked away from the main bar hidden behind a key card. Would definitely recommend and close to the main town in Whitby!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The George is in a great location and Whitby is a lovely town for a weekend break. The hotel isn't 5 star by any means but the rooms are good, linen and bathroom clean and staff were helpful. We stayed in a room at the front of the hotel which was noisy in the morning but a pair of earplugs sorted that. As we were out late every night we never made it to breakfast so can't comment on that! The hotel (or Whitby) would be challenging for people with mobility issues as there are a lot of stairs/steps to negotiate. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TaraInDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Most people would call The George a pub with rooms rather than a hotel. It's location is very central, being located opposite the railway station in the centre of Whitby. We were a party of four, each with our own rooms. My room was a double room that was generally clean and tidy apart from some stains on the carpet and a rather dirty looking shower head. The bed was clean and comfortable and tea/coffee making facilities were provided. The continental breakfast was no more than cereal, tea and toast but for what we paid, I was quite happy to nip around the corner and get a full English for a fiver. I stayed for two nights and have to say that I slept well without any noise interruptions from downstairs. It's not the Ritz but for a short break it was ideal. Would I stay again? ........ Yes I would.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room when booking
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnlenihan1297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

First class hotel, very clean and perfectly located. Thought the complimentary breakfast might not be very good, but was so wrong, it made a great change, while all self service it was easy and there was plenty...as much as you want in fact, great choice and all nice.
I would happily stay at the George Hotel again. Terry Edwards Bridlington East Yorkshire.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews