We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feedback following our recent stay”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Hotel
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I have recently returned from a 2 night stay in one of the 3 bed attic rooms at the George Hotel. Check in was quick and painless, the trek to our room was not. Although I suffer from arthritis, I consider myself fit and healthy at 60, indeed within the last year have climbed several mountains in our beautiful Lake District. The stairs to our room nearly had me beat. If you have mobility issues then book a lower floor.

There were a couple of issues with the room but as I didn't feel strongly enough about them to complain at the time, then it would not be fair to mention them in this review. My main gripe is with fellow guests.

We had a wonderful day in Scarborough fishing, playing on the beach followed by a swim at the local baths. Returning to Whitby the boys went fishing and crabbing.

I returned to the hotel for a shower. The shower door does not close properly. The previous user had not taken heed of the warning sign on the wall and had pointed the shower head towards the shower door flooding the bathroom. They had also left the loo in a disgusting state.

Feeling tired after a very busy day we went to bed around 10.30. We were woken at one in the morning by two drunken couples staying on different floors talking loudly and shouting goodnight to each other. This went on for quite some time followed by the couple on our floor going backwards and forwards to the bathroom shouting and slamming doors. Worse was to come in the morning when I went to the bathroom where I found blood?/sick? around the base of the toilet.

Fellow guests, please show some respect for others and have some dignity. Retire to you room quietly and if you make a mess in a shared area have the decency to clean it up.

We did have an amazing time, love Whitby and can't wait to go back. Great day in Scarborough, calling in at York on the way home fantastic.

Room Tip: Ensuite is essential. 3rd and 4th floor not good for people with mobility issues. Wi Fi and televi...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MaggieD186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for The George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

When we arrived at the hotel I had to wait 10 minutes for the lad behind the desk to finish whatever he was doing. Then given a key and told room number. The room was ok, fine for the stay. The only problem I felt was that this place is very much focused on the pub side of the place. I felt as if is the hotel customers were just there to add a bit of money to the place. We were on the third floor and the noise from downstairs at the likes of 1am was ridiculous. Then breakfast, a brief explanation of what was what and that was it. On check out your kind of put out a side door with not a sole to ask if you have had a nice stay or anything. Just put your key in a black box and off you go! We love whitby and had a great weekend but we will not be staying here again!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gouldenone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here on a Sunday as we were at a christening in whitby. We are a relatively young couple and enjoy a drink and a laugh. The bar is buzzing and had karaoke so the girlfriend was happy even thou her voice sounds like a suffocating cat!, the barmaids are a bit rough (which is what you expect in whitby to be fair). Must say the room was very stuffy and we were on the top floor and no lift when the girlfriend has high heels on is a lot of unwanted whinging! Had to pay extra £5 for a cooked breakfast.
The Irish housekeeper is a real card, even gave my bum a flirty little slap when I came into the communal corridor after my shower which we found very entertaining! To be honest she was a really laugh and was the stand out thing of our stay at the George.
Cheap & cheerful would stay again
One last thing pretty sure my girlfriend wet the bed in room 20 unless the sheets were yellow when we got there

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The George is most definately more a pub than a hotel, we booked this last minute for one night only and too be honest this was all we would stay. On arrival we entered through the pub entrance rather than the hotel entrance which is in the rear, the entrances are not very well sign posted, the pub was bustling as you would expect on a sunny Friday evening. The location is extremely central, across from the Railway and bus stations. We had booked a twin room with shared facilities by mistake, once we realised this the front desk staff quickly moved us to a double with ensuite. The rooms very small but had everything you needed during your stay ie bed, wardrobe, dresser, tea/coffee facilities and shower, the carpet to be honest had seen better days and really needs upgraded, the shower was tiny and you had to step out of it to wash your hair which was a bit odd. You don't hear the pub below once you are in the room which is great, okay for a 1 night stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anjip_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Some of these reviews are really unfair to The George. I have just stayed here, in one of the four non en suite rooms which is the top floor. Not ideal amount of stairs for a 3 1/2 & 1 1/2 yr old but I am the one that chose the shared bathroom! And actually we did not hear a peep from the til 2am weekend disco. Neither did my brother who was staying on the third floor.
Breakfast was toast, crumpets, cereals, juices, hot drinks, and a good choice of fruit.
Great location, right opposite the train station and a three minute walk to the bridge that links East and West Whitby.
The staff were very friendly and helpful - even offering to help carry the pushchair up the stairs for us!
May look like a bit of a dive when you first walk in, but actually the rooms are kept clean and at £25pppn for the shared bathroom, what a great price!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank mezelks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

From the outside the pub doesn't look much, but once inside it is a great oldy worldy pub with cheap beer if you go during a week day and very well kept. The rooms are great and roomy and tucked away from the main bar hidden behind a key card. Would definitely recommend and close to the main town in Whitby!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The George is in a great location and Whitby is a lovely town for a weekend break. The hotel isn't 5 star by any means but the rooms are good, linen and bathroom clean and staff were helpful. We stayed in a room at the front of the hotel which was noisy in the morning but a pair of earplugs sorted that. As we were out late every night we never made it to breakfast so can't comment on that! The hotel (or Whitby) would be challenging for people with mobility issues as there are a lot of stairs/steps to negotiate. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TaraInDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,081 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,142 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.2 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hudsons
Hudsons
#10 of 20 in Whitby
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: 38 Baxtergate, Whitby YO21 1BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £47 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at The George Hotel in Whitby, we offer the ideal base from which to enjoy your stay in the beautiful seaside town of Whitby. Situated right in the heart of the town, everything you may want is within easy walking distance - from the marina and beaches, to museums and shops, and even the North Yorkshire Moors Railway.Come and sample our welcoming atmosphere, with friendly staff & comfortable surroundings. We have a lively hotel bar with several nights of entertainment, along with another bar which can be hired for private functions.You won’t miss out on any sporting moments as we have Sky Sports HD & BT Sports shown on large screens. We also offer a good range of wines & spirits at affordable prices & hand pull ale. Lavazza coffee is now available along with other hot beverages. Free Wi-fi is also available throughout the bar area and most hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing