We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corra Lynn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Corra Lynn
Ranked #12 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in room 3, a very specious room with a large en-suite shower and bath room. The breakfast food was excellent including home made bread for the toast. Despite only taking over two weeks ago the new owners are well organised and friendly and willing to help with any enquiries if possible.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0d_Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    27
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
63
165
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed in room 4 on the top floor, which was lovely. The breakfast was excellent and served by the friendly couple who run it.
The free parking outside was very beneficial and we loved Whitby, the beach was gorgeous and there's so much to do.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We only stayed 2 nights and wish it could have been longer. The rooms are immaculate and the breakfasts are among the best we've ever tasted. The new owners bake their own bread and breakfast muffins and I'm told we'll have cake as we'll next time.

Easy walking distance to the beach and town - perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I have been going to the Cora Lynn guest house for a number of years now and have always been greeted with a warm welcome from Chris and Bruce. I booked my stay back in march as always, paid my deposit and looked forward to my stay as normal. I turned up to book into my room only to be told that Chris and Bruce had retired and my room had been let to someone else. When I asked why I was told that a number of people had not been turning up therefore she assumed I was not turning up and let my room out. when I told her that I had paid my deposit and was entitled to stay she asked for my deposit slip. Not having this she then refused to refund my deposit. I was left stranded in Whitby with nowhere to stay.
If this is how regular customers are treated by the new owners then they wont be in the business for very long. I have always recomended the Cora Lynn to friends and family but not ant more.
Michael T.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank michael t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle N, Owner at Corra Lynn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Michael,

We appreciate that this was not a great experience, we have recently taken over the Corra Lynn and although we have details of forward bookings and reservations, some of these have very limited information. In your case we had your forename only and a note which said £10, which we assumed related to the deposit, but there was no corresponding deposit confirmation that been supplied for other bookings.

For similar situations we have made all efforts to contact to confirm reservations, for yourself we waited to 5pm before re letting your room with you arriving at 7.00pm.

We do not want to loose good customers and are keen to make the Corra Lynn a great place to stay. If you give us a call, we will happily refund your deposit, alternatively, can we offer you a free nights stay with us.

Regards
Michelle and Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Had a great two days in Whitby staying in Corra Lyn. Lovely and clean and very spacious rooms. Bathrooms are immaculate and the breakfast was spot on. We even got lemon drizzle cake to take on our travels around Whitby which was a lovely added bonus. Great value for money and well worth a visit. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saucey1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent 2 nights B&B at the Corra Lyn Hotel & cannot find a bad word to say about it! We were made to feel very welcome by the new owners Simon & Michelle who couldn't do enough to help us! The hotel is conveniently situated, only a 5 minute walk either way to West Cliff or into town. It has a small car park on the front which is ideal with the problems of long stay parking in Whitby! Our room was no.4 which was furnished to a very good standard, even having its own mini-fridge! The bed was so comfy & we had a great nights sleep.....so peaceful! Breakfast was served between 8-9am. I had full English which was delicious & plentiful & set me up for the day! All in all we really enjoyed our stay at the Corra Lyn Hotel, it is good value for money & we would definitely go back again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

we are regular visitors to Whitby and stayed her for a night. Chris and Bruce are lovely hosts, friendly and welcoming. They Have both lived in the area for an age so are a wealth of knowledge. Good and plentiful breakfast, large clean rooms and car parking space as well. The hotel is well located, 5 mins from the beach, town centre and 2 minutes from Pannetts Park.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.6 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#7 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#2 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abbotsleigh
Abbotsleigh
#3 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corra Lynn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corra Lynn

Property: Corra Lynn
Address: 28 Crescent Avenue, Whitby YO21 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Corra Lynn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing