We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend away”
Review of Lavinia House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lavinia House
Ranked #30 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“weekend away”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The lavinia house is a lovely place to stay John and Sarah cannot do enough for you. Its a perfect B&B to stay in to explore whitby .They give you a choice of breakfast and nothing is to much trouble for them we would definitely book again .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveswann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
184
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We came to Whitby for our 20th wedding anniversary. It certainly will be one to remember.
We stayed in room 1 at Lavinia. It was a lovely room and very clean. Fantastic choice of breakfasts, and they were really nice.
John and Sarah are lovely and can't do enough. The views from the bench , just outside, were fantastic.
We,ll certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakeylad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great place to stay if you want clean spot on rooms. Warm welcome from John & Sarah when we arrived. Luggage carried to our rooms. Nice to have found b&b with no dogs and kids. Breakfast was very good 3 course. Very filling. Nothing was too much trouble. will be going again some time. We had a 5 day holiday there. Mike & Carole. Nottingham

Room Tip: room 8 big and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Lovely relaxing stay at Lavinia House ...very clean with superb décor throughout , in a nice quiet location central to the town and harbour. Our room was not as small as advertised and had a great sea view with a good en-suite shower room which was perfect for our two night stay and I had the best nights sleep in a hotel for years.
The Breakfast was served freshly cooked and hot with plenty of choice to set you up for the whole day.
thanks for a relaxing break

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stokes5038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Beautiful room with fantastic view down to the sea, Lovely friendly accommodating people, The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice, don't miss the wonderful sausages, Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jefpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

What a romantic stay. Four poster bed, flowers, champagne and chocolates. They will facilitate anything. Brilliant accomodation. Lovely breakfast. A font of local knowledge. Late arrival is ok. Lovely rooms to choose from. Nice view from the windows. Take note not to leave eating too late in the evening at local restaurants and its a good idea to book. Excellent location for the surrounding area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moglentours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Spent 4 nights at Lavinia House in May and had the most wonderful holiday here.
We were in room 3 which I think must be the largest room. It was lovely and very comfortable with a huge bed, 2 very comfortable chairs. bathroom had bath and shower. The room was immaculate with lovely bedding and white fluffy towels in the bathroom.
Breakfast was to die for with a huge choice. John and Sarah were lovely hosts. We were greeted by John who handed over a parking permit so we were able to park outside.
Very easy to get into town and there are some super restaurants.
We hope to return keep up the good work John and Sarah you have a lovely guest house

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanjohn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#18 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ellies Guesthouse
Ellies Guesthouse
#21 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Dene B&B
Park Dene B&B
#16 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Guesthouse
Seacrest Guesthouse
#38 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#6 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavinia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavinia House

Property: Lavinia House
Address: 3 East Crescent, Whitby YO21 3HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely house of character, an ideal base for discovering the coast, the North Yorkshire moors and the narrow streets of the delightful town of Whitby. All rooms are en-suite with bath or shower, TV's, beverage making facilities. Some rooms have king-size four poster beds, sea and harbour views. Freshly cooked full English breakfasts are served in our informal dining room. For the comfort of all guests, Lavinia House has a strictly no smoking policy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavinia House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing