We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heathfield Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Heathfield Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Lovely place, all the rooms are decorated beautifully with a lot of attention to the little touches from an excellent choice of beverages in the rooms through to the toiletries provided. The house is spotless and the breakfast is A1. The hosts John and Linda cook breakfast to order with fresh fruit, cereals, and a light, vegetarian or full English option for breakfast. We were even asked if we wanted more! They are chatty, fun and happy to answer questions about the local area, can recommend local eateries and the best sights. Can see why it is so highly rated. And an extra thanks for posting back my forgotten mobile phone!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
232
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We read several reviews before booking this guest house, but did wonder if it could really be that good. We need not have worried; Linda and John made us very welcome from the outset.
Our room was immaculate and the bed was very comfortable.
The breakfasts were excellent, with plenty of choice, and cooked to order rather than en mass.
It is a small world indeed, as we discovered that Linda is from the same area in Derby as Sara's dad.
Nothing was too much trouble, for example, we used the fridge in the kitchen to keep wine and beer cold, and if Linda and John were going out of an evening, they would leave an ice bucket in our room with drinks of our choice.
These two really go that extra mile. Can't recomend Heathfield too highly.
Andrew and Sara.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExcellentBandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

This was our 3rd 2 night stay with Linda & John and it just gets better!
We always stay in room1 which is plenty big enough with a huge bathroom. The room is always spotless and the bed extremely comfy,
Breakfast is my husbands favourite in all of the places we have stayed, he talks about it to everyone!
With plenty of off road parking and 2 of the most welcoming hosts I'm sure we will return year after year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane_sysum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

John and Linda made us feel very welcome and by coincedence, Joun and i have a shared interest of classic cars so we had lots to talk about. The room was excellent and the location was good for a stay in Whitby. There is a selection of DVDs in the hall for you to borrow which is a nice "extra". The breakfast choice was good and the full English kept you going for a good part of the day. We would book again if we were in the Whitby area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tong998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We randomly chose Heathfield for our short break, but there was nothing random about it. Perfectly situated for walking into the centre of Whitby and back (as long as you don't mind walking up a hill), this B & B is virtually perfect. The owners are lovely and very welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfast was substantial, with a delicious fresh fruit salad, and the whole place was spotlessly clean. There is a large DVD library, with a range of DVDs for all ages, and small thoughtful touches, such as umbrellas for guests to use. The hospitality tray was well stocked, and topped up daily. The parking behind the B & B was easy to use, put was a little tricky to manoeuvre a large car when it was full (there was plenty of parking on the side road which may be preferable). The owners were happy for us to arrive before check-in time, leaving the car in their car park. I stayed with my 2 children (15 and 12) and we stayed in room 3, which was a great size, with a settee, a double bed and a single bed. The beds were extremely comfy, and the room even had a small fan, which was a welcome addition!
The children both gave it a thumbs up, and said they would definitely stay there again, as did I.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

on arrival greeted by warm friendly owner, room (no3) was beautifully decorated, really large and had lovey touches to room. Breakfast was outstanding. fantastic stay many thanks for a fab stay. Location was suitable as we are active and had car, may not be suitable if frail.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We were met at the door by Linda, she welcomed my husband and myself and showed us to our gorgeous room. The decor and cleanliness was first class. As it was our first visit to Whitby Linda gave us some suggestions on where to eat during the evening. The breakfast was excellent, the fresh fruit salad a real tasty pleasure to eat.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.8 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#7 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ellies Guesthouse
Ellies Guesthouse
#19 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#2 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Dene B&B
Park Dene B&B
#16 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbotsleigh
Abbotsleigh
#3 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathfield Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathfield Bed and Breakfast

Property: Heathfield Bed and Breakfast
Address: 22 Prospect Hill, Whitby YO21 1QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family run bed and breakfast. All ensuite double rooms +1 family room, children welcome. No smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Heathfield Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heathfield Hotel Whitby
Heathfield b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing