We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excelent B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holmleigh Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holmleigh Guest House
Ranked #96 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excelent B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Lovely room with large bathroom. Enormous breakfast served by very friendly hosts. A good walk to the centre of Whitby but would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah68Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay and it was wonderful! The room was spotless, the breakfast delicious and set us up for the day and we will definitely return in the future. Thank you to Kev and Carol for wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BevNic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Just got back home after a two night break at this lovely B&B. Nothing more to add from the other reviews. Lovely rooms, Breakfasts superb, spotlessly clean. Good location and on site parking.But what made our break was the wonderful hospitality given to us by Kev and Carole. Great Yorkshire humour and stories, always smiling in the morning over breakfast.
Go and stay here it's great.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smoggie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodley, Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I've travelled all over the UK and Overseas, and to be frank the service at Holmleigh was first rate! Better than many 5 star hotels I've stayed in!

Would recommend anyone looking for real Yorkshire hospitality visit Kevin and Carol!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We had booked for a 5 night stay but do to a family illness we had to return home,and only stayed one night,but they couldn't have been more understanding,kev even gave me a cuddle.we will return and finish our holiday one day.
It was just what it said in other reviews,spotlessly clean,big breakfast,And great hosts what more do you need?

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rose15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed at the Holmleigh Guest House on the 9/10 August. We were greeted by Kev &Carol, a very nice and genuine couple who can't do enough for you during your stay.The room was spacious and absolutely spotless. The breakfast lived up to all the reviews we had read on the internet, it was marvelous. Should we visit Whitby again we would certainly stay at the Holmleigh Guesrhouse again, a lovely B&B and truly wonderful hosts. Thankyou.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Kev and Carole are lovely, friendly people, but are in no way intrusive. Holmleigh Guest House is absolutely spotless (which is a very important factor for me). We stayed 2 nights and our room was cleaned both days with tea and coffee facilities replenished. Now for the breakfast - we have stayed in many hotels over the years and have never had such a good breakfast. It was cooked to perfection with not a spot of grease on the plate. There were cereals, yoghurt and fruit to start and as much tea/coffee as you wanted. The only downside I would say to breakfast was that we would have preferred the option of having breakfast between say 8.00 am and 10.00 am as breakfast time was between 8.15 and 9.00 am and as we were on holiday this was a little early for us.

If I had one other small negative it would be that our room was quite small, but nevertheless spotlessly clean.

We would probably not stay again but only because we don't think we will visit Whitby again as we found it very difficult to find somewhere decent to eat (unless you wanted fish & chips) and there were only a couple of more upmarket bars. We also find that there were a lot of run down shops and the whole feel of Whitby was not particularly clean.

Room Tip: There are a lot of reviews regarding spacious rooms, but we unfortunately got a small room, but we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.9 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ruswarp Hall Hotel
Ruswarp Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sandsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Wilson Arms
The Wilson Arms
#138 of 152 in Whitby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#1 of 48 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmleigh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmleigh Guest House

Property: Holmleigh Guest House
Address: 6 Prospect Hill, Whitby YO21 1QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing