We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great days in Whitby”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holmleigh Guest House
Ranked #110 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Thorne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great days in Whitby”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Just got back from Whitby and had to let people know what a great place Holmleigh Guest House is. The room was excellent and the breakfasts will be very hard to beat. Kev and Carol (the owners) are very friendly, welcoming and very helpful.
We have already booked our next stay!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Fantastic holiday , stayed for 4 nights regatta weekend, very friendly hosts Carol & kevin + Rosie the collie, first class food, room very clean + comfortable, clean towels when required , parking for every guest , Kevin was very helpfull regarding good places to eat / where to go ect. nothing to much trouble , just had to ask.

Room Tip: Room 2 very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
445 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I had a very bad experience trying to book at the Holmleigh. Viewed details of rooms and prices on line and telephoned next day to book. I spoke to Kevin to check availability but was passed over to Carol. Firstly I was advised the rooms on line were not necessarily the rooms available and also the prices for the 2 rooms were higher than quoted on-line. I proceeded to book for 3 nights and paid a deposit. Within minutes I was phoned by a very angry Kevin who advised me that the rooms were not available for one of the night's and what was I going to do about it!etc.etc. In the end his wife took the phone and apologized for their error and a refund was issued. So be extra careful when making a booking. This establishment appears to have great reviews so hopefully this was an unusual occurrence.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lakelover908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmleigh, Owner at Holmleigh Guest House, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Hello my name is Kevin or as the lady refered to me a 'very angry Kevin'. and along with my wife Carol we own and run Holmleigh Guest House in Whitby. Regarding the above review what the lady say's apart from the 'very angry, quote is correct. As stated on the review we told her the rooms were available and then had to telephone her and apoligise because WE had made a mistake and the third of the three nights they requested was not available. The lady said it left her in a bit of a pickle and she now did not know what to do as she had booked for themselves and friends. After some diliberation all I asked the lady was what they were doing regarding the booking, if she was in any way offended by this then again I apologise. As my wife finished talking to the lady, the lady told her she would be putting a bad review on tripadvisor and that this would not be very good for our Guest house. (could this be mistaken as a threat)? Finally the review states that they stayed in August 2013 all the above happened on the 27th July 2013 and the party of four never stayed wiyh us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

After searching for hours on the Internet to try and find somewhere to stay for 1 night we found this place an e mail was instantly replied to and we were booked in at a reasonable price of £80 for 2 with breakfast. We arrived early and was greeted by kev he couldn't have done enough and was very welcoming we left our car for him to move and bags to take to our room and we left for the day to eat drink and see the sights. After a great nights sleep in a ample size room with en suite which was clean and just what we needed we went down for breakfast fruit juice, cereals, fruit as well as a full English with unlimited toast tea and coffee was amazing!! Hats off to carol and kev we would definitely stay here again it was close to the centre and the parking and breakfast made it!! Thanks x

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloclo2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull , Engand, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Relax and enjoy the company and owners of this guesthouse.....you will not be welcomed anymore in my view if you were family.....coversation at breakfast is a must....mobiles are for later ....what a great location....second time of staying here.....huge breakfasts are the norm!,

Room Tip: Free carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Holmleigh Guest House for two nights and we were both really impressed. Kevin and Carol gave us a really warm welcome and Kevin even carried our bags up to our room which was a really nice touch. We stayed in Room 5 at the top of the house which was very comfortable and had everything we needed. A nice comfy bed and a well stocked tea and coffee tray with biscuits. The room was very clean and really couldn't be faulted.
Breakfast was fantastic, a good selection of cereals, fruit and full English were all on offer. As we are not really big breakfast people we opted for a bacon sandwich which was probably one of the best we've ever had and all served with a smile.
The guest house is located close to the town centre, just a short 5-10 minute walk and free parking for every room which is ideal. If you are looking for a friendly, comfortable place to stay with great breakfasts then the Holmleigh guest house is for you. We would definitely recommend it and will be returning next time we visit Whitby. Thanks to Kevin and Carol for a great stay.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frimley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We arrived in Whitby a little later than expected on a Friday evening however this didn't stop Kev giving us a very warm and friendly welcome. Our rooms were comfortable, spotless and homely.
The breakfast room is light and spacious. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful.
Nothing seemed to be any trouble.
A great place to stay.
Holmleigh is a shot walk fro the town centre and the private parking was just brilliant.

Room Tip: We had room two. It was at the back of the house and catches the morning sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TillyC-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,019 reviews
0.0 mi away
Overdale Guest House
Overdale Guest House
#30 of 151 in Whitby
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corra Lynn
Corra Lynn
#9 of 151 in Whitby
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
301 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
129 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmleigh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmleigh Guest House

Property: Holmleigh Guest House
Address: 6 Prospect Hill, Whitby YO21 1QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing