We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Abbey View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Janet E
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The service was top notch, we hired both cottages as we were a party of 12 and the owners were happy for us to have a late check out as we were going to a family Christening on the day of departure.
The property was larger than expected, clean, tidy and had all the equipment needed for our stay.
This cottage is off the main road but was easy to find and having a play area within the grounds was fantastic at keeping the little ones entertained. It is within a 5/10 minute drive to Whitby and has a supermarket within a couple of minutes.
The location and friendly service was above expectations but there were a lot of flies inside the cottages which was not nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that two cottages were like one for our large party
Liked least: The flies
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daneb1711
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay!”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Lovely cottage in a very nice location. Laurie and Jackie the owners were very kind and welcoming. Rooms are well decorated and spacious. Will definitely be back :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliNKe
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, friendly and helpful proprietors. We had a great stay.”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Abbey view is a lovely cottage, well proportioned and well heated. Renovated from derelict farm buildings, there are a few holiday cottages set within the grounds of a farm. Located a five minute drive from Whitby town centre, it has a countryside feel, whilst still being within easy reach of all that Whitby has to offer. There is a track that runs from Scarborough to Whitby accessible from the farm grounds, which makes for a lovely walk into town (as an aside, make sure you have plenty of energy for the walk back, the weekend we stayed we found it impossible to get a taxi, and despite it being only 8.30 in the evening the buses had stopped running apparently.)
The holiday cottage was well equipped, and when we had a minor problem getting the television to work, it was dealt with very quickly and efficiently. Everything else seemed to be in good working order, and we didn't want for anything.
Returning after a day out on Halloween the children were delighted to see carved pumpkins dotted around the grounds, this was a lovely touch.
The children were very well catered for, a play room next door, and playground equipment just outside meant they were kept happy.
We will definitely consider using the cottages again, we would take a torch next time though. The lane up to the cottage is extremely dark!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities for the children.
Liked least: Banging our heads on low beams ;-)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write such a thorough and pleasing review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and the children made full use of the grounds. As you stayed goth weekend, you are right - Whitby was very busy! We're pleased your children enjoyed the pumpkins. If you do decide to visit again next Halloween, we always keep a bowl of sweeties for trick or treaters. It was a pleasure for you to stay. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoDandCo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfy, family friendly cottage with real character and not too far from Whitby”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Those few words say it all. It was ideal for our weekend in Whitby; close to the town and other attractions and the games room with loadsa films, footy table & pool table amused the kids aged 12, 9 & 7. There's even a
play area outside. As we
pulled off the A171 there's a sign for a water treatment plant but in spite of the weatherbeing warm we weren't bothered by bad smells. You really need a car to get around from here but as we'd travelled up from the Midlands, small trips into the harbour, to Robin Hood's bay and to see the Whale bone arch at West cliff weren'a problem. Sainsbury's is across the road and there's free range eggs at the farm..but if you don't fancy using the well equipped kitchen there's lots of pubs & restaurants to sample. Any gripes? Only a minor one about the shower over the bath. Because of the sloping ceiling you haven't got alot of room to manoeuvre. Luckily neither of us is that tall so once we'd got the taps sorted to the right temperature, we were fine. Thanks to Laurie & family for a lovely break.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2014
Thank you for the comments. The pool table works well for the older kids and the climbing frame well with the little ones.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L
1 review
“Lovely comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Abbey view is a lovely cottage. It is comfortable and spacious with a lovely sized living room which meant it did not feel over crowded for the size of our party which was 4 adults, 2 children and a dog. Our children claimed the bunk bed room downstairs immediately on arrival but these beds are adult size so could be used to sleep 2 adults easily. Well equipped kitchen, beds made up for arrival and towels included which saved taking wet towels home with you. We visited Whitby and Goathland and the Cottage is ideally situated with only a short drive to both. The very well equipped games room and play area outside are both within watching distance of Abbey Cottage and kept the kids entertained while the adults relaxed! We only stayed for one night but will definately be booking the cottage again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2014
Thank you so much. Children and dogs very welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate G
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb property & location - great stay”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The property was superb - plenty of space and the facilities were second to none. Very peaceful. Excellent that they cater for dogs. Perfect location for exploring the area. Will definitely return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2014
Thanks for the review, very much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F
Isles of Scilly, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Comfortable, warm cottage, close to everything, but feels like the countryside”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The cottage was great, a little worn, but just perfect for a outdoor holiday. Comfortable and well equipped, would stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the large living/dining room and the master bedroom
Liked least: dripping tap, tired decor, lack of sharp knife
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2014
Thank you for the good review. We're glad you had a lovely holiday and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing