We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“3 nights wasn't enough”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Abbey View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MarekLont...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
455 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“3 nights wasn't enough”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

There were 4 adults 2 little guys and a pug thar stayed at the Abbey view cottage and it was spot on. The lounge area was very spacious and kitchen was well equipped. Only downside was the shower... I'm 6'3" and it was very cramped due to sloping ceiling , in my opinion a dormer window would add much extra space and ceiling height. That aside all else was good.
A 20 minute walk away is the Windmill pub ... you must visit, ghetto food is brilliant !
No hesitation in recommending the Abbey view if you're under 6'

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickyhand...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“we enjoyed our stay.fab for our 5 children and great being pet friendley”
Reviewed 7 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

the greeting we received was to a high standard. the property was very clean and well equipt. the location was ideal and the amenities was fantastic as we have 5 boys. the walk was perfect for taking our dog..

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne w
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely helpful owners, great location apart from being very close to a sewerage plant”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

when we arrived the owner was there to greet us, the location was ideal close to open fields where we could exercise our two dogs, a large supermarket across the road. The cottage was clean but needed some updating and due to low beams you need to watch your head. On the second day of our stay we opened the door and a terrible smell hit us, after some investigation we realised that the property was next to a chemical sewerage plant, when the wind was in a certain direction it was unbearable. We had to go out as we were unable to stay at the cottage, we would not stay again due to this.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet E
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The service was top notch, we hired both cottages as we were a party of 12 and the owners were happy for us to have a late check out as we were going to a family Christening on the day of departure.
The property was larger than expected, clean, tidy and had all the equipment needed for our stay.
This cottage is off the main road but was easy to find and having a play area within the grounds was fantastic at keeping the little ones entertained. It is within a 5/10 minute drive to Whitby and has a supermarket within a couple of minutes.
The location and friendly service was above expectations but there were a lot of flies inside the cottages which was not nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that two cottages were like one for our large party
Liked least: The flies
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daneb1711
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay!”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Lovely cottage in a very nice location. Laurie and Jackie the owners were very kind and welcoming. Rooms are well decorated and spacious. Will definitely be back :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliNKe
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, friendly and helpful proprietors. We had a great stay.”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Abbey view is a lovely cottage, well proportioned and well heated. Renovated from derelict farm buildings, there are a few holiday cottages set within the grounds of a farm. Located a five minute drive from Whitby town centre, it has a countryside feel, whilst still being within easy reach of all that Whitby has to offer. There is a track that runs from Scarborough to Whitby accessible from the farm grounds, which makes for a lovely walk into town (as an aside, make sure you have plenty of energy for the walk back, the weekend we stayed we found it impossible to get a taxi, and despite it being only 8.30 in the evening the buses had stopped running apparently.)
The holiday cottage was well equipped, and when we had a minor problem getting the television to work, it was dealt with very quickly and efficiently. Everything else seemed to be in good working order, and we didn't want for anything.
Returning after a day out on Halloween the children were delighted to see carved pumpkins dotted around the grounds, this was a lovely touch.
The children were very well catered for, a play room next door, and playground equipment just outside meant they were kept happy.
We will definitely consider using the cottages again, we would take a torch next time though. The lane up to the cottage is extremely dark!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities for the children.
Liked least: Banging our heads on low beams ;-)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write such a thorough and pleasing review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and the children made full use of the grounds. As you stayed goth weekend, you are right - Whitby was very busy! We're pleased your children enjoyed the pumpkins. If you do decide to visit again next Halloween, we always keep a bowl of sweeties for trick or treaters. It was a pleasure for you to stay. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoDandCo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfy, family friendly cottage with real character and not too far from Whitby”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Those few words say it all. It was ideal for our weekend in Whitby; close to the town and other attractions and the games room with loadsa films, footy table & pool table amused the kids aged 12, 9 & 7. There's even a
play area outside. As we
pulled off the A171 there's a sign for a water treatment plant but in spite of the weatherbeing warm we weren't bothered by bad smells. You really need a car to get around from here but as we'd travelled up from the Midlands, small trips into the harbour, to Robin Hood's bay and to see the Whale bone arch at West cliff weren'a problem. Sainsbury's is across the road and there's free range eggs at the farm..but if you don't fancy using the well equipped kitchen there's lots of pubs & restaurants to sample. Any gripes? Only a minor one about the shower over the bath. Because of the sloping ceiling you haven't got alot of room to manoeuvre. Luckily neither of us is that tall so once we'd got the taps sorted to the right temperature, we were fine. Thanks to Laurie & family for a lovely break.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2014
Thank you for the comments. The pool table works well for the older kids and the climbing frame well with the little ones.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing