We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Captain Cook's Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have just returned from a week's holiday in Endeavour Cottage (number 14). The cottage was very clean and tidy and set in beautiful surroundings. We had a lovely view out of the kitchen window of the river and watched steam trains passing by and out the back was a lovely seating area to sit outside and enjoy the peace and quiet. There was a nice little park with swings, etc, for the children and the indoor swimming pool was an added bonus which we thoroughly enjoyed using most days of our holiday. The grounds are clean and tidy and the garden areas are very well kept. There are plenty of places to sit around the site for a picnic and there was also a couple of barbeque areas. We enjoyed a pleasant walk along the viaduct and it's close proximity to Whitby was also very nice. The staff were also very friendly. It was a pleasure to stay and we would be very happy to go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LeicestershireLass99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just got back from a weeks holiday from Whitby and stayed at Captain Cook's Haven Endeavour cottage (No 22). Very peaceful. The cottage had almost everything you need. The only criticisms we have was the shower [alright if you are short - shower head over the eave]; TV channels were very limited [in the bedroom, only the DVD worked] and no washing line where the drying area was situated. Minor problems really I know but would have given 100% if the shower had perhaps been the other end of the bath, the TV in the bedroom had channels stored and there was somewhere to hang wet clothes. As I say, apart from that the cottage was lovely and the surroundings were very peaceful and idyllic for a short break. We would definitely go back. Lovely seeing the ducks, rabbits and robins in the grounds [which I have to say were immaculately kept].

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We took our 8 month old for his first trip away, and the cottage (10) was just perfect.

Well equipped, clean, and spacious - the perfect base for days out.

The site itself seemed very quiet, and we had a lovely view of the river. We were only a 30 min or so walk into Whitby (but be warned it is a steep hill to the viaduct from the lower cottages - although it's only a short walk so shouldn't deter most). You can park right outside the door which is ideal,

The gardens are immaculate, the scenery and wildlife very picturesque, and all in all perfect for a relaxing break.

If I had to find fault with anything, the ceiling over the bath was pitched which doesn't give much headroom for a shower (I'm 6ft and managed), also the kettle was a bit slow to boil. As you can see I'm clutching at straws !

We stayed for 3 nights, and this was an ideal base for anyone wanting yo explore Whitby or the surrounding area. This would be our first choice to stay if we came back and have already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunseekerSunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have just returned from a weeks holiday in Endeavour Cottage number 14. This cottage was very clean and well equipped. Beautiful view across the river especially when the steam trains were passing. Lots of ducks eager to be fed and rabbits running around the grounds. The only drawback to this cottage is the very steep hill up to the top half of the complex.

Room Tip: Good view but steep climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanWWetherby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Was very simply staying in a holiday cottage owned by a seperate company but with no leaflets of places to go to in whitby. Whilst walking past the reception I saw they had some leaflets, but was told by both a gardener and the owner I could not have one. Even though they are free and there were loads available. I was a prospective customer yet the way in which I was spoken to by both employees was Apauling. I have complained to haven and they did agree that the attitude was unacceptable and they apologised unreservedly

Stayed: June 2014
4  Thank alexorr_2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daleananne, Owner at Captain Cook's Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

What this Gentleman is saying is not true. It just confirms that even people who do not stay in your accommodation can write damning reviews. He did not contact us as owners therefore no unreserved apology was made. He was in fact staying on a neighbouring site with no facilities or amenities and expected to use ours this was explained to him and he left very disgruntled.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have just got back from 4 nights away. We stayed in cottage number 31 an upside down house. It was lovely and clean very spacious for 6 adults. The walk in to Whitby was brilliant as were the views. Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Staceyms001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in number 8 which is on the lower level. Lovely cute cottage and right next to the river which was a bonus :) just a couple of little things that could have been better; no phone signal inside the cottage, the microwave plate was too big for the microwave and would not rotate, the tv didn't have a great reception and the shower was more suited to smaller people as has a slanted roof. Other then these minor issues we had a great stay and would happily return again :)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.1 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,162 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#3 of 4 in Sandsend
57 reviews
1.1 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#6 of 54 in Whitby
290 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Cook's Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Cook's Haven

Address: Larpool Lane, Whitby YO22 4NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Whitby
Number of rooms: 125
Also Known As:
Captain Cook`s Haven Hotel Whitby
Captain Cooks Haven Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing