We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cross Butts Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunsley Hall(Whitby)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hudsons(Whitby)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
237
56
23
9
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
237
56
23
9
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderfloor heatingshetland ponieswedding venuemezzanine bedroomwhirlpool bathpark and ridefour poster bedsitting areaan overnight stayfish and chipscooked to perfectionbirthday treatcouldn't faultlittle gemcouldn't do enoughlovely placetoast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
276 - 281 of 350 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Somehow we have always passed but never really noticed this little gem. Thank heavens our neighbours suggested it, as having been about 18 months ago. From entering the car park on a beautiful autumn afternoon, the views were splendid. On entering Reception we were welcomed with our neighbours & 2 sets of elderly parents ( as we were treating them for an 80th birthday & early Christmas present ), & shown to 2 groung floor dbl rooms for parents - perfect, & gallery bedrooms for us - which gave us a sitting area with open plan mezzanine bedroom. The rooms are not massive but everything was clean & equiped with all you needed & more , having truffles & half bottle of moet complimentary. We had the mid-week package , which included 3 course evening meal & Breakfast. The food was Brilliant, & we did send compliments to the chefs. We will be back next year, but will have to include lot's of walking to work up a big appetite. All staff were lovely & friendly. There is a lovely relaxing area upstairs after havin eaten your meal, & also a lovely area to sit outside and enjoy the countryside views on nice warm days.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I recently stayed at this fabulous venue with my wife and cannot fault anything throughout our stay. The trip was a birthday suprise by my wife and she really did well with the accomodation, the hotel came highly recommended from some friends.

The hotel is situated in a very accessible location, whilst also overlooking stunning landscapes. On arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful and showed us to our lovely room, stable 6. The room was well decorated, clean, high quality finishes, spacious and inkeeping. The luxury of a whirlpool bath and a four post bed were the icing on the cake.

The hotel prides itself on its locally sourced produce for the restaurant and again the quality, choice and portions were a delight. Breakfast each morning was something I looked forward to with a well selected full English, this tasted fantastic. The evening meal options were again varied and well priced, I would personally advise the chicken sizzler, a meal with lots of drama as it is delivered to the table steaming and sizzling with a taste that is out of this world.

Overall a great place to stay, I would be eager to stay here again if I was in this part of the country.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mini_reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

What an outstanding place!! After being recommended to Cross Butts by a friend 3 years ago our family have stayed with them many many times, on every occasion we are impressed. A bit pricey for some, but well worth it, quality with a capital Q! Our son did get married here this year, what an excellent venue. If you are travelling to Whitby, be sure to make a reservation at Cross Butts. Be it for accomodation or a memorable meal you will not be disappointed. The desire to provide an outstanding service is clear for all to see.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astra515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We came across Cross Butts by accident a few years ago when we were looking for a Romantic break to get away from things. It's simply fabulous and the setting is stunning, we enjoyed our stay so much we have been back several times since and decided on Cross Butts for our wedding venue.

Gemma (the wedding coordinator) was great and could not do enough to ensure we had exactly the wedding we wanted, nothing was too much trouble. 

Our compliments and those of our guests go out to the Head Chief as the food throughout the whole weekend was delicious and of a high standard, with plenty of choice for everyone at the celebrations including our vegetarian guests.

The venue is beautiful and very bespoke, each and every time we go there is something else to see, which just adds to the whole experience. Cross Butts was a farm and then converted to a restaurant and small hotel, completed to a high standard and has retained the quaintness of the original buildings (there is a book showing the history of the farm... It's well worth checking this out). There are 9 rooms each individually decorated and are all wonderful and unique, a pleasure to stay in.

On each and every visit the staff have been very friendly and professional, The weekend of the wedding must have been  incredibly hectic for all the staff concerned, but ran completely smoothly and without a hitch;  we cannot thank the staff at Cross Butts enough for all their hard work.

We would and have recommend a visit to Cross Butts, even just for a coffee and a quick bite to eat all the way through to a celebrationary party, the venue is beautiful, the food is 
fabulous and the staff are both professional and very friendly. 

Mr & Mrs Paul & Catherine Swallow xxxx

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waffoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

A great place to stay, nice and clean, the staff very helpfull and also not very far away from Whitby.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johncummins174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews