We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 50th Birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pier Inn Whitby
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Unfortunately I have reached my 50th birthday, so I wanted a weekend away with friends so we chose the Pier Inn. The Pub has 7 rooms which we took all 7! From the minute we arrived till the second we left holly, Charlie and their team were friendly and very attentive. Whatever we needed it was never a bother and always with a smile. I wish them both good luck with the pub as they only took over in October. Thank you for making my stay in Whitby a great weekend.

Room Tip: They all have a sea view, but the family room is on the top floor with a windy staircase.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Strelitzia1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for The Pier Inn Whitby
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 399 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed at the pier inn during December 2012.
Managers could not have been more helpful if they tried, staff were ALL warm and friendly and really made our stay nice.

The rooms were very clean and the breakfast was not disappointing... Warm, tasty, and good portion sizes.

It was nice to be served by people who genuinely wanted to help.

Location was great and central.

We will be returning during the summer months, and will be telling our friends and family about this little gem.

Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Go on the second floor if you are going to he having an early night, the bar closes around 11 so the...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nich498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Just back from a group weekend at the Pier Inn. Great atmosphere, brilliant management and staff, breakfasts and 'fish -n- chips' to die for. Centre of Whitby with the best views in town.
C.C.C. (clean, cheerful and cheap) Will stay there again.
Thanks for a great two nights.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carb-care
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

i have just returned from weekend stay at the pier inn. I could not fault anything.The staff were very friendly nothing was a problem to them.i had a twin room it was spotlessly clean and very comfortable.the breakfast was very tasty and filling.I rearly enjoyed my stay thankyou CHARLIE AND MOLLY. my first but not my last stay.XXXXX

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sylviasymington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We had the attic family room which was very clean and comfortable-good size bathroom-instant hot water. Stairs were a bit on the narrow size as the further to the top you went the narrower they seem to be. the television did not work at all, when you put it on the picture was frozen and we could'nt change channels at all, but to be fair - we did'nt really need it . Good size breakfast and quite enjoyable-and all staff were helpful and polite. And we had a harbour, church and abbey view. Would stay again....Many Thanks

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsRevGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed 3/9/12 and I am posting this as we found it was on that night....small pokey room but clean enough. Very squeaky bed, floodlights lit up room as if it was daylight. We asked to have these turned off, but they weren't turned off till pub closed. Noisy music from the bar at night and again at 8am. Breakfast in the unclean bar. Awful breakfast, sausages were off, staff not friendly or helpful at all. If you want a quiet room, don't stay as it is a working port and forklift loading ships at 4am. 7 weeks away from New Zealand and this was our only disappointing room. Manager got us to prepay before seeing room....we learnt from that!! We found the main street of Whitby very dirty, but it was cleaner further back from there. Loved Bothams of Whitby though, a really old fashioned Bakery and worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank donziegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

These guys were true publicans. They were eager to show us the rooms and then talked to us during the evening. they had only taken over the pub three days before but the rooms were immaculate. Pub itself is a bit a tired but the beer is good. Breakfast in the morning was good and plentiful.

Only negative was the beds are squeaky and you can hear the music from the bedrooms on the first floor but not the second floor but hey it's a pub.

Good luck to the new owners if they are as helpful to all as they were to us they will be successful.(Thanks Charlie for the hint about the castle)

Room Tip: Book a room on the second floor. The stairs are worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrendanLondon5858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
2,073 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,135 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
633 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pier Inn Whitby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier Inn Whitby

Address: 4-6 Pier Road, Whitby YO21 3PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £71 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the harbour, The Pier Inn in Whitby enjoys a seafront location and offers en suite rooms with free Wi-Fi. This traditional pub and restaurant is just 4 minutes' walk from the town centre, less than 2 miles from the North York Moors. Rooms at The Pier Inn have a flat-screen TV, wardrobe and tea and coffee facilities. All have en suite facilities with a shower. A full English breakfast is served each morning. Food is served in the pub at lunchtimes and in the evening. This inn is around 13 minutes' drive from the pretty fishing village of Robin Hood's Bay. The Whitby Museum, Pannett Park and the Captain Cook Memorial Museum are all within 10 minutes' walk. Please note, the rooms are above the pub, and as the Pier Inn is a listed building, the staircases are rather narrow! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Pier Inn Whitby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing