We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pier Inn Whitby
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

we visited here over the bank holiday, rather disppointing after reading the reviews!! i advised at time of booking i was diabetic and had to ask for sweetners, no one told us about breakfast or what time or where to go. had to request sweetners again and the female member of staff argued with me !! stayed in room 4- ok but cobwebs in the corners and bed broken. music went on until 11.30 so didnt get an early night, the breakfast was lovely though and the view is fab but wont be stopping again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachieh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    118
    51
    19
    29
See reviews for
73
201
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

we went in and ordered food, the worst food i have ever had
only one thing to say walk away
ANYTHING was to much trouble for the staff
you could have hit nails into a wall with the chips
the plate was NOT clean
the fish ( if it was fish did`nt taste like it)
never shown a menu asked for fish
were not told we could have cod or haddock
told everyone to give this place a wide berth
did`t get what we order & we made to feel it was our fault
JUST WALK AWAY

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank THERESA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed 1night in the attic room very comfortable would have been happy to stay another night and will stay again in the future. Great location, great staff great good. No good got people with mobility issues as no lift. Value for money. Close to co op great boutiques and Magpie fish n chips be prepared to que. Had a great 2days 1nights stay can't wait to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 03bettyboo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenage
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed at pier inn for 3 nights in Feb half term,stayed in room 6 big bed shower good hot at all times.lovely view loved watching the fishing boats,best view ever had.slept really well breakfast very good,lovely friendly staff,will be returning.

Room Tip: Our room was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zkiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe N Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just got back home this morning, stayed overnight, lovely hotel, the hot water was luke warm an no bath just a shower, after a cold day walking it would of been nice to have a bath, very friendly place and packed out at night as a band was on, drinks good and excellent tea of fish and chips big helpings, breakfast lovely.
Our room had a lovely view over the harbour only one negative was the toilet was very slow to fill extrmely slow but the bed and pillows very comfortable. Lovely walking places and everyone very friendly,lovely visit.

Room Tip: NO tips really
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennycam10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Called in here on Tuesday for breakfast,and the only thing I can say is perfection ,we have had breakfast in many hotels all 4&5 star but none as good as there's at the pier .Everything was cooked perfectly ,with first class produce also presented beautifully!!! The atmosphere inside is lovely a warm cosy fire and very friendly owner and staff I would definitely recommend breakfast here .

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank wendy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Excellent value for money. The rooms are clean and comfortable with amazing views over the harbour. Great breakfast sat next to the open fire....just what you need for a winter getaway!
Best fish and chips in town too!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgieW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#20 of 20 in Whitby
3.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pier Inn Whitby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier Inn Whitby

Property: The Pier Inn Whitby
Address: 4-6 Pier Road, Whitby YO21 3PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the harbour, The Pier Inn in Whitby enjoys a seafront location and offers en suite rooms with free Wi-Fi. This traditional pub and restaurant is just 4 minutes' walk from the town centre, less than 2 miles from the North York Moors. Rooms at The Pier Inn have a flat-screen TV, wardrobe and tea and coffee facilities. All have en suite facilities with a shower. A full English breakfast is served each morning. Food is served in the pub at lunchtimes and in the evening. This inn is around 13 minutes' drive from the pretty fishing village of Robin Hood's Bay. The Whitby Museum, Pannett Park and the Captain Cook Memorial Museum are all within 10 minutes' walk. Please note, the rooms are above the pub, and as the Pier Inn is a listed building, the staircases are rather narrow! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Pier Inn Whitby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing