We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveller rating
248
70
21
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
248
70
21
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barsea viewguest housewatch the worldwhale bonesfull englishbreakfast choicesharbour entrancewest cliffbiscuitsbreakfast roomsea frontfamily roommini fridgelovely hotelgreat positiontoast
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 347 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just spent 20th to 22nd June at Sandbeck. Were really pleased with what room we had. Very clean, shower was a little not knowing how to get hot water through properly but we managed. Staff very friendly nothing to much trouble. Breakfast was lovely well presented. Will stay here again but next time will get a sea view room.

Room Tip: Room eleven back room was extremely quiet. Apart from the sea gulls
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank val g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights 12th to 18th June. Room 7, very clean fresh room with lovely bay window and sea views. Staff were friendly but not intrusive. Excellent choice at breakfast time and food well presented. We love whitby and return often and have stayed in numerous guest houses and holiday cottages over the years but can honestly say this is one of the best.
It's just a shame that the free on street parking is now pay and display or disc zone. Luckily Kay the owner provided us with a permit that only cost £1 per day but feel the change may have an impact on some business's on the west cliff.
We would certainly use the Sandbeck again.

Room Tip: Bay rooms for great views and seating to relax and watch whitby go by!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here for one night to celebrate my wife's birthday. A friendly welcome on arrival and a clean, well positioned room on the second floor facing the sea. Decent breakfast. One failing was that the free wifi signal didn't reach our room (14). Worked OK down in the lounge though.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrahamandSueR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We spent a lovely two-night stay at the Sandbeck (Friday and Saturday). We had room 16, a sea-view double on the second floor. It was simply furnished but pretty and really light with two windows as it's on the corner of the building, so felt welcoming and cosy despite the creaky metal bedstead. We had a lovely view out to sea from the front window, and to the whale bones and harbour entrance.

It's in a brilliant location, just across from the beach and a cabin selling snacks and hot drinks, and along from the pavilion. There's even a lift in the hotel if you find the stairs tricky or are worn out after walking up and down all Whitby's steps and slopes. Shame the shower wasn't quite as powerful as we're used to so not much good at massaging away our aches and pains (we're not used to hills, as we're from the flat fens).

Breakfast was excellent both days. Loads of choice. Bit of a pain having to choose the night before but that's a minor niggle when the food's so tasty. My husband had the fry-up both mornings and was impressed to t a perfectly cooked egg both times. I had the croissants one morning and the pastries the next, all delicious and really fresh.

If we're heading back to Whitby, the Sandbeck will be my first choice.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at the lovely Sandbeck Hotel during early April for three nights and had a fantastic time. Excellent service, my husband needed special dietary requirements and this was not a problem. The room and bathroom were spotless, brilliant sea view and great location. We mentioned that it was my birthday and on our return one evening found that we had rose petals spread out on the bed with the words saying happy birthday, also a box of chocolates, what a lovely idea. We did not try the honesty bar but may well do on our next visit.

Room Tip: Book a sea view on the second or third floor.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews