We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
248
70
21
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
248
70
21
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar sea view guest house watch the world whale bones full english breakfast choices west cliff harbour entrance biscuits breakfast room sea front family room mini fridge lovely hotel great position toast
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 348 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Sandbeck for the last 3 days of our hold in north Yorkshire. Lovely location,great views from room 20,lovely and clean,bathroom looked quite recently refurbished with walk in shower. Advertised as a family room, but just large enough to fit in the smaller camp bed rather than a true single....was not an issue for my 12 year old but worth a mention. Lovely breakfasts and great idea having the extra choices options which I tried for 2 of the 3. Overall a very nice guest house.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StirlingFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have stayed at the Sandbeck before what a beautiful place, not only were the rooms immaculate but also lovely décor with breathtaking seaviews, warm and friendly welcome, easy check in and out, wide choice of tasty breakfast and excellent service. we arrived home yesterday feeling refreshed and looking forward to returning to the Sandbeck again this year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank yvonne430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My partner and me stayed here for a weekend in July 2014, it was a last minute decision to go so being the first week of the kids summer holidays we had to take what was left in the town at 3pm on the Friday (i can be impulsive at times), we landed at 8 pm, the girl on reception was brilliant, checked us in, sorted us with a parking voucher, explained the set up all in 15 mins.
We had room 16, a corner room on the 2nd floor, brilliant views over the sea, the bed was comfy, bathroom looks brand new, mini fridge and flatscreen tv, we can`t find fault with the room.
Breakfast is the best, homemade fresh orange & apple juices, all the usual suspects, which are locally sourced and you can`t half tell, tasted great, there are loads of choices you don`t normally see at a b&b as well, you will struggle to get a better breakfast in the town.
The landlady was always around to help if needed, the staff are great, we have stayed in a good few b&b`s on the west cliff, we shall be returning later this year, that`s a promise, we are both very impressed, many thanks

Martin & Sharon

Room Tip: the sea view rooms are worth it, we had 16, will ask for it again next time ;-)
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank clayxblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed one night here in July. Phone booking was well handled, received a confirmation email. Excellent reception on arrival, easy and cheap parking across the road using the "scratch card" provided for the princely sum of £1 by the hotel. Availability of parking is very important to me.

Booked a room with sea view (Room 6), Lovely little area in the room with a bay window looking out towards the sea, with two comfortable chairs and coffee/tea making facilities, DAB radio and excellent wi-fi reception.Hotel is a short walk to the "Whale Bones" and a 5 minute walk to the centre of Whitby.

Superb breakfast

Room Tip: I highly recommend booking a room with sea view
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TimSherlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

booked really late notice and got the two single rooms that the hotel (4 & 15) has for 1 night. Hotel is in great position on the cliff top facing sea near the whale bones. We both had sea views and both rooms were a decent size and very clean. Teles, coffee, biscuits are provided in the room and a super shower which was needed after our walk to Staithes (about 11.5 miles). I used the 'Honesty' bar on the evening waiting for my son to get ready and it was comfy with decent priced drinks and you put your payment in tin. Kay and the Latvian lass who looks Swedish were very friendly and helpful. The scratchcard to park your car is easy and only costs a pound. The breakfast on the morning was lovely, cereal, drinks and a full english was all eaten and prepared us for another walk to Robin Hoods Bay (about 7.5 mile). Would defo stay there again, thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riley044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews