We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveller rating
248
70
21
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
248
70
21
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barsea viewguest housewatch the worldwhale bonesfull englishbreakfast choicesharbour entrancewest cliffbiscuitsbreakfast roomsea frontfamily roommini fridgelovely hotelgreat positiontoast
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 347 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We stayed here for a couple of nights at the weekend (just gone) and had one of the best stays ever in Whitby.

We arrived, room by room from midday, until just before 9pm totaling around 10 rooms and was checked in pretty much straight away by one of the friendly owners who swiftly explained to us about ticking our breakfast preferences off before 10pm, and pointed us in the direction of the lift to our rooms.

You can park if you get a permit from the reception (£1.60 for your stay), which is valid in the 'w' zone only (the street the hotel is on, and most side streets).

We were one of the rooms on the top floor of the hotel, almost in the eves of the building, along with another room of ours opposite. The rooms (pictures didn't save) were very nicely furnished, with flatscreen TV, tea & coffee facilities, private bathroom with power shower, as well as plenty of storage, drawers, and a wardrobe.

We made it for breakfast both mornings, which I believe is served until 09:30, possibly 10:00 (I'd check that with the hotel), which was great! We were asked upon seating at our table if we'd like tea or coffee, and if we'd like white, brown or mixed toast. The back bacon, Cumberland sausage, fried eggs, beans & grilled tomatoes were all cooked perfectly. There was also a good selection of juices, filtered water, cereals and preservatives on offer too - definitely something for everyone!

My only pick would have HP instead of second-place Daddy's Brown Sauce The rest was perfect.

The bar in the hotel (pictures on the hotel's website via Google) - (named the Honesty Bar) was something I'd never seen before! It was a proper corner type bar, fully stocked with 35ml optics of rum, gin, whisky, vodka, tequila etc, and the fridges full of soft drinks, John Smiths, bottled ciders and lagers. There was a price list on the wall, and you would pick someone to be the designated cash handler, and to write down what people had, and to hand that into the reception at the end of the night/next day. Great idea!

We checked out on time at 10:30 on the Sunday, and will hopefully be back again next October for another great stay, keep up the great work! 2

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank craig_tommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

The location really could not be better - walking distance to the town centre and the pavilion, with a nice view of the sea. The room was clean with a comfortable bed and adequate shower facilities. The cooked breakfast was fine. The price was about average for Whitby, which itself is relatively high because it is such a popular place for visitors. We booked early, which was a good job, because it was full - despite being after the high season.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Upon arriving, we were welcomed by Kay. She instantly recognised us (which was lovely) as we have stayed there twice before. Our family room was on the top floor (which we didn't mind) and was very clean and comfortable, and quite spacious for what we needed. We had a beautiful view from our room. Breakfast was beautiful (as always), and the staff are very warm and friendly. Nothing is ever a problem, and a friendly smile is always there. We can't wait to book again for next year.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandbecker, Owner at The Sandbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hello the Hall Family !
nice to see you all again especially your lovely, well mannered son
See you next year
Regards Kay and The Sandbeck team xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Just had two great nights here,it was our 48th wedding Anniversary on Wednesday thought we would do something nice,and we couldn't have been more pleased, this was our seventh visit Thanks to Kay and her staff we will back next year.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CBROOKES1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandbecker, Owner at The Sandbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thanks Colin and Dorothy always nice to see 2 friendly faces
looking forward to see you next year
Regards Kay & David xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

This hotel is a fantastic gem of a find. The decor, rooms, lounge etc are all very clean and relaxing. The staff are all very welcoming and friendly, nothing is too much trouble for them. I arranged for Flowers wine chocs and rose petals to be placed in our room on arrival, everything was ready on entering the room, just perfect, thank you Kay. The rooms are spotless, and very comfortable, Bathroom has a bath and shower, powerful shower and lots of hot water, which can be a problem in some hotels, not here. Breakfasts were delicious, Try the Yogurt and fruit mix, delicious, one of Kay's specials i think. The view from our room (No 21) was to die for, overlooking the sea. The hotel is perfectly placed with just a 5 min stroll to the sea or town. I cant praise it highly enough, Thank you Kay and staff, just perfect

Room Tip: Book a front room with views of the sea
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glynn1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews