We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Anchorage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #32 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Turns out that everything I wanted to say has already been said by other equally-happy guests of the hotel! My boyfriend and I spent two nights there at the weekend, and it really was perfect. We adored our room - the 'Hollywood' room. Just the quality of the bed sheets is worthy of mention! Great night's sleep, large and super clean bathroom, beautiful finishing touches (I loved my make-up table and mirror), flat screen tv, and gorgeous decor. Substantial breakfast, fresh fruit, never short of tea or coffee, really friendly service, and I'll be booking the same room in the same hotel as soon as I'm back in Whitby.

Thank you thank you thank you to the New Anchorage - a luxurious home from home.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    26
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
225
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We found this on trip advisor and liked the sound of it- we were not disappointed. The seaview room we requested was no.5, the woodland room, lovely decor, comfy bed and large, luxurious bathroom. Mick and Debra made us very welcome, even giving us their parking space on the crescent round the corner for the whole weekend as we preferred to walk everywhere. Breakfast in the room was a lovely idea and we pulled the table in front of the window to look at the sea. We both had a full English the first morning (ordered on a paper slip the night before) but my wife asked for porridge the next day and it was delicious. We will definitely return to try out the other rooms!! Many thanks for a lovely stay.. P,S lovely smell in the hallway and sweetie dish!

Room Tip: Seaviews are lovely but Tudor room at the back also looked nice with a four poster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank del_froogoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

lovely hotel , family run, so owner is always on hand , to advise on where to go , what to see , where to eat , we have stayed here each year since he took over , thats TEN years , would not stay anywhere else , lovely views out to sea

Room Tip: Front rooms have superb views over the cliffs and out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akbedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Just got back from our first stay at this very clean and pleasant bed and breakfast. Wasn't disapointed that we couldnt get a sea view when we saw our delightful room - No. 1 complete with four poster bed and reproduction oak furniture. Must be the Tudor room as we had Henry VIII looking down at us!!! Lovely and clean, warm and friendly atmosphere. My partner wasnt keen on having breakfast in the room but changed his mind on the first morning when. bang on time, a knock on the door heralded a very enjoyable breakfast. Felt very relaxed and leisurely. Will definately visit again and recommend to all.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikerbabe54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This has to be the best B&B in Whitby and we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in quite a few in Whitby over the years.
We chose room 2 which is the French room and it was gorgeous, beautifully decorated, a large spacious room with two really comfy chairs in the bay window looking out to sea, it almost made you feel as you did not want to leave the room.
The bed was really comfortable and the sheets had a lovely fresh smell to them, your first view as you wake is the sea straight ahead of you, what more could you ask for.
The bathroom was "wow" a roll top bath and separate large shower all in keeping with the French theme of the room.
The hallway was thoughtfully decorated with books, sweets and a lovely dolls house that lit up at night, all adding attention to detail.
Mike the owner, greeted us and immediately made us feel very welcome, he explained the breakfast order sheet and we had a choice of times for it to be delivered to the room, this was great, no need to get up and dressed before breakfast, a nice touch and relaxing start to the day.
We can't wait to return to this charming friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Let the owners guide you to what is best for you, they are honest and will listen to your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bevanbob74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

My husband and I went to Whitby for the weekend and he had booked this hotel as a surprise. The location is incredible, right on the seafront. Our room (number 5 - the 'Woodland' room) had a seaview and was a fantastic size for a hotel room! The bathroom was beautiful and, again, big. There was a standalone bath, double shower and, when you were in the shower, you could look out to sea! The bedroom also had two comfy chairs which you could push up to the window to look out as well as a small table and hard-backed chairs at which to have breakfast while you looked out to sea. Each room is individually decorated to a theme. I loved he woodland theme - greens, muted colours and co-ordinating decorations etc. - and would definitely stay in it again. Mind you, the room below us (the French room I think) has a bay window, so maybe we'll try that next time. Rooms are sometimes called suites, but ours was certainly just one room (albeit a generously sized one) plus a bathroom. Liz and John were looking after the hotel while their daughter was on holiday and they were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Seaview room on first floor has a bay window. Definitely go for a seaview room if you like to sit an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CI5_GIrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Really lovely B&B, great attention to detail, awesome breakfast served in your room - everything you would need. Plenty are free parking around the hotel, and the owners are nice and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HannahCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
Hudsons
Hudsons
#7 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crescent Garden House
Crescent Garden House
#11 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#7 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sandbeck
The Sandbeck
#39 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melrose Guest House
Melrose Guest House
#9 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Anchorage Hotel

Property: New Anchorage Hotel
Address: 3 Crescent Terrace | West Cliffe, Whitby YO21 3EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Anchorage Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing