We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back for more...”
Review of Sandpiper House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandpiper House
Ranked #12 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Back for more...”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Don't know how many times we've stayed at Sandpiper House but there's a reason we have repeatedly done so for the last seven years. Simply superb ! A home from home with welcoming hosts, great location, lovely rooms (we've stayed in most) and a breakfast that is always absolutely delicious from quality ingredients.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPLynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    55
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
48
442
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Helens
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at the Sandpiper, we stayed in the suite which is a delightful room.
Beautifully furnished with everything you need and a bathroom to match all spotless.
Peter and Manetta are superb hosts, helpful and friendly. If you can drag yourself out of the sleigh bed in the morning you will find another major plus point..... the breakfast..... this would put many top end hotels to shame. Cooked to perfection and the choice is yours or if you prefer you can help yourselves to the cereals and toast etc.
All in all a great first stay in Whitby for us. We have been lucky enough to book a room for the November goth weekend but we will be back in the summer.
We ate at the Marine and Trenchers both very good. Nice pub over the road as well.
Try the Sandpiper you will love it. Great hosts, great location.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StHelensGuitarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Very comfortable, well thought out rooms, quality fittings, great service, perfect breakfast with good choice,very friendly hosts, good central location, parking was no problem. We had a great 2 night break and would highly recommend this small but high quality B & B.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norman p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

My partner and I stayed in one of the apartments at Elizabeth House with our friends Richard and Lucy (who have also left a review below).

The apartments really were a home from home, very cosy and clean with everything you might need for a weekend break. Would definitely stay there again and would suggest booking an apartment if you are going as a group and don't mind sharing.

We were offered breakfast at the hotel which was an added bonus as it meant we didn't have to cook or go looking for somewhere to eat. We were also asked to choose when we wanted breakfast which was great as it didn't mean we had to wake up really early on a Sunday morning to guarantee we got something to eat. The breakfast was flexible with a variety of cereals, jams, fruit juices, condiments and cooked breakfast items. The full English which I ordered was cooked to perfection and certainly set me up for the day ahead.

The only tiny negative point I can think of was that the videos in the apartment could do with being replaced by dvds and the books on the book shelf could be more up to date.

In all, the hospitality was amazing with the hosts being obviously genuine people. I am inclined to agree with everything that Richard has written and would not hesitate in recommending that you stay here when visiting Whitby.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnanRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at Sandpiper House on several occasions and everytime I remember exactly why I don't hesitate to call whenever my wife and I decide to stay overnight in the area.

Sandpiper House and its associated apartments are the epitomy of a well run, friendly, clean and hospitable guest house. From the moment you cross the threshold you are treated not only as a client / customer but so much more, you genuinely feel valued and that your every need is striven to be met.

Peter and Manetta have a fantastic model that they obviously treat as more than a business, it is clear to see it is a passion for them and their dedication and attention to detail is phenomenal.

We have stayed in both the House and Apartment just accross the road and found both property's to be beautifully kept and tastefully decorated. Facilities are excellent throughout and as I have already mentioned the level of customer service is inspiring.

Our hosts were refreshingly flexible in our requirements for breakfast and the times we wished to take it, nothing was too much trouble.

Sandpiper House is a real gem that I urge anyone wanting a clean, friendly excellently run and all round pleasureable stay in Whitby or the surrounding area to try!

I'm already planning our next visit in a few weeks.

You won't regret it....

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richnlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

lovely place to stay very clean and modern , breakfast first class ... only 1 little thing , would have liked bottled water in room ...
Manetta & Peter were lovely and very helpfull
tried to book for Goth weekend in November 2013 but no rooms left

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureencottam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year. Rooms were spotless, suite very comfortable and well equipped. Freshly cooked breakfasts including kippers. Location is great - 5 mins walk to town and the same to the beach. Parking space was great as parking in the area is difficult. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suffgardengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,996 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,087 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
798 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth House
Elizabeth House
#3 of 52 in Whitby
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper House

Property: Sandpiper House
Address: 4 Belle Vue Terrace, Whitby YO21 3EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Whitby, with reserved/free parking.Sandpiper offers a bolt hole which offers a home from home with luxury touches.We have invested alot of time money and energy ensuring we offer the best accomodation we can provide. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandpiper House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing