We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B right in the heart of Whitby”
Review of Sandpiper House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandpiper House
Ranked #13 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B right in the heart of Whitby”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed for two nights last week. Probably the best breakfast I've ever had at B&B. The breakfast muffin was really very good. The room wasn't huge but it was very nicely decorated (I believe it's recently been refurbished). There's also really fast Internet which was nice.

I was made to feel very welcome and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    57
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
48
453
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Myself and my wife have just returned from a overnight stay to Whitby. The aim, to get some quality fish n chips, take in the sights of Whitby, enjoy a quality evening meal and drink our way through the amazing cocktail bars! And being from Halifax, this involved an overnight stay. That morning I booked the Sandpiper ( on the back of other TA reviews ) and was not disappointed. We were given a modernised room with a quality bathroom and great bed! Check in was simple and the breakfast excellent.....nothing was too much trouble, the selection was ample and the service and food, both outstanding. Would we recommend it to others....without a doubt.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisKay197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have just returned from a pleasant stay at Sandpiper House. Lovely comfortable super king size bed, lovely newly refurbished en suite. Just a few points small well worn bath towels which were very wet from first use were not replaced when the room was cleaned, we had to switch the radiator on to dry them. The bath mat disappeared after the first night and we only had one hand towel which had to double up as a bath mat after night 2. No hair dryer in the room. Breakfast had a good choice even Whitby kipper to order for following day. On first day no one was offered extra toast or drinks today every one but us was offered extra toast and tea. It's just little things and it wouldn't stop me recommending to others but I don't think we would return

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTH410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Just spend three great nights at the Sandpiper. Rooms lovely and clean, everyone immensely friendly and a great breakfast. Its perfectly place for all local amenities and a short walk to the town centre and harbour front. As regular visitors to Whitby, we will definitely have the Sandpiper down as our first choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corbs28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Lovely B&B, with really friendly hosts, and lots of nice little touches in the rooms. It's a perfect location right in the centre of whitby, and great breakfast. Everything you could want in a weekend stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night stay.at Sandpiper House and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The Suite room was lovely with a fantastic bathroom-lovely freestanding bath and huge shower. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice and nothing was too much trouble. The landlords were lovely and very welcoming. Perfect location in the heart of Whitby. Would definitely recommend and will most certainly stay there again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AT2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for four nights over valentines weekend. We chose to stay in 'The Suite'. We were greeted on arrival by our host who was very warm and welcoming. He showed us up to our room which was located on the top floor and even carried our heavy case for us! Our room was absolutely beautiful! Warm and cosy with a huge comfy bed. The bathroom was very luxurious with a huge shower and beautiful bath. Everything was spotless and was so everyday. Sandpiper house is conveniently located on a quiet street with everything nearby. The breakfast you get every morning is delicious with lots to chose from and one day when I was ill they even offered to bring something up to my room so I didn't miss breakfast. Was very sad to leave as our host were lovely and our room felt so homely. We will definitely return again and are already planning our next visit.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,020 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,112 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth House
Elizabeth House
#2 of 52 in Whitby
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 151 in Whitby
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper House

Property: Sandpiper House
Address: 4 Belle Vue Terrace, Whitby YO21 3EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Whitby, with reserved/free parking.Sandpiper offers a bolt hole which offers a home from home with luxury touches.We have invested alot of time money and energy ensuring we offer the best accomodation we can provide. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandpiper House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing