We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good”
Review of Sandpiper House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandpiper House
Ranked #12 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed for four nights in room one. The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean (two things we forgot to mention on checkout tho- the mattress is beginning to wallow- I'm not that big but ended up rolled into the middle each morning. Also the shower head fastening needs replacing- minor niggles but worth mentioning to make it perfect)
Breakfast was excellent - they use a quality sausage and cook crispy bacon. I also enjoyed the fish one morning too. Peter remembers each guest's quirks- brown sauce for me!
They recommended good restaurants too esp Ditto just across the road (you have to book)
We were able to have two car free days leaving our car on site and using a bus to do two coastal walks - brilliant views.
We did have good weather and this obviously makes a big difference but Whitby is a great place to explore and The Sandpiper a good base to do so.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tricia0763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    58
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
50
464
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just got back from a 2 night stay here for my birthday. On arrival we were given a welcome by the owners and given a map of the best places to eat. We stayed in the king room which was lovely and spacious as well as being very clean. Breakfast was delicious and nothing was too much trouble, after not eating the bread crusts the first morning the following morning my sausage sandwich was brought out with the crusts cut off which shows how much attention they payed to what I liked. The owners made us feel so welcome and it felt like such a homely place. Couldn't fault it at all and can't wait for our next break here.
Would encourage anyone to stay here, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plantpott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

stayed at sandpiper many times over the years never loses its charm and hospitality, nice central location easy reach of shops and attractions, we park the car up and that's it for 3-4 days, we walk and bus everywhere, stayed in both b and b and apartments Peter and Minetta will always when they can accommodate you in some way great couple! and breakfast don't ask best around all freshly cooked and using local produce. Back again soon we hope. Graham and Linda Ox

Room Tip: 1st floor overlooking street comfy sofa, relax chill out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindao1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had 4 nights here. We booked the king room, which was very comfy, clean and well furnished and had a view of the Abbey..
A very friendly welcome. Breakfast was very good. Lots of good places to eat and only 5 mins from the harbour. We would have no hesitation to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank alan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Booked via Late Rooms following reviews. Great central location, with parking available. Liked the fact it's a cosy guest house. Warm and friendly hosts, more than willing to help with luggage, parking and anything else. Room was spacious and comfortable, liked the settee to unwind on after the evening out. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice of food and drinks, you could have it exactly how you wanted it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ade T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Excellent host and very good breakfast. Room a little cramped but furnished to a reasonable level. Would have been helpful to have an information booklet in the room outlining local attractions and recommended places to dine etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed here for two nights and found it excellent. Bed was comfy and the room was clean. Breakfast was very good and having biscuits in the room was a nice touch. The only problem was that sun seemed to be coming directly (trust an Englishperson to be complaining about the weather) into the room and the sash windows were very difficult to open as they had been painted recently. Also, there was secondary glazing as well which made it even hotter. However, this would not usually be a problem at the British seaside and in any case did not detract from the fact that it's still a very good place to stay and I would do so again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rivermedway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,048 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,131 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth House
Elizabeth House
#2 of 53 in Whitby
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#5 of 151 in Whitby
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper House

Property: Sandpiper House
Address: 4 Belle Vue Terrace, Whitby YO21 3EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Whitby, with reserved/free parking.Sandpiper offers a bolt hole which offers a home from home with luxury touches.We have invested alot of time money and energy ensuring we offer the best accomodation we can provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Sandpiper House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing