We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very good - almost excellent”
Review of Sandpiper House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandpiper House
Ranked #10 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Where to start? There is much to praise; both Peter and Minetta are excellent hosts. The welcome we received was warm, friendly and professional. As mentioned by other reviewers Peter's people skills at breakfast are truly excellent, remembering people's preferences, and (on one occasion that I observed) buying in special ingredients to accommodate a guest's request for something not on the menu. The food is excellent quality, very well cooked, and very nicely presented. A small thing that demonstrates what Sandpiper House is about - check the weight (and quality) of the cutlery - none of your lightweight, cheap, made out of bacofoil rubbish here

The decor throughout is excellent, the light fittings include modern, stylish chandeliers. The furniture in the Abbey King Room was all solid wood (not cheap), no MDF at all! How rare is that? Money and taste combine to produce a very, very pleasant place to stay

I had very few niggles, but, they are niggles that prevented me giving a top rating for Sandpiper House. I want this to be constructive feedback, it is meant honestly, and a lot of thought has gone into what I would write here, not least because I hope to return and stay here on many more occasions, so here goes:

1) The towels are too small, and too few. At £80 to £100 per night the towels should be full size (at least 5' x 3') with two towels per guest per day, not the one each 3'6" x 2' jobs being used. Personally I can't understand why the boat is pushed out on the furnishings, but pennies are pinched on towels. Why not complete the luxury?

2) Whoever was responsible for making up the room each morning seemed to operate under the belief that a fitted sheet could simply be thrown onto the bed and this would be sufficient. It was quite warm when we stayed and on night one I ended up looking like a reject from one of the Mummy films. From that point on I remade the bed every evening, tucking the fitted sheet properly over all four corners to produce the kind of taut, smooth sheet that is a pleasure to sleep on. Luxury should be more than skin deep, substance AND style, if you will

3) The TV is positioned too high on the wall for comfortable viewing from the (very comfortable, and stylish) sofa. This could be remedied by relocating the table that sits under the TV, it could be turned through 90° and put against the party wall thus freeing space on the exterior wall for the TV to be lowered by about nine to twelve inches. Luxury is not a cricked neck

4) The TV again - the choice of channels is miserable. I know for a fact that Sky TV will do a reasonable deal so that each room could have its own Sky + box for a reasonable monthly cost. Even if that were as high as £30 a month (it wouldn't be, but just go with it for the moment), surely a room that is being let at £80 PER NIGHT is worth spending £1 PER NIGHT on to achieve a genuine best in class for facilities

5) The damp smell in the bathroom. Difficult, I know, in a bathroom with no window to keep things aired and dried out as you'd wish, but, perhaps stronger (but silent running) ventilation might help

To summarise my niggles; I'd use a well known phrase that included the words, "a ha'porth of tar" - I'm not saying that the ship is spoiled - so very far from it - but the cake is beautifully iced, it's just crying out for the cherry on top (I'll have a mixed metaphor please barman), and the thing is, it wouldn't be a hugely expensive cherry, but it would move this establishment right to the top of the league

Overall I'd say that you'd struggle to find anywhere nicer to stay. Peter and Minetta are running a top quality place. I guarantee that when you stay there (and you really should) you will be talking about the quality too

Room Tip: The rooms on the Abbey side have no passing traffic, or revelers, but this is Whitby and the gulls m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank CudBWorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night in the suite (room 4) and couldn't fault a thing. Upon arriving we were a little early but was greeted by Manetta who told it wasn't a problem and helped us to our room immediately. She helped us park directly outside the front door and provided us with a parking pass.
The room was lovely, a very comfy bed with a small leather sofa at the end, flat screen tv and a very nice, obviously brand new en-suite, a perfect room for a mini-break.
Manetta was very helpful, providing us with a map and offering advice on the best restaurants etc, on her recommendation we ate that evening at 'The Marine' on the harbour which was lovely. The Sandpiper is less then 10 minutes walking distance into Whitby itself, so in our opinion it was perfectly placed.
After a good nights sleep we made our way to breakfast which was in a lovely room downstairs, Peter could not do enough for us and the food was of a very high standard.
Overall we both loved our stay at the Sandpiper, the only negative is that we couldn't stay longer!!!
Thank you and we will defenately be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tuney444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A big thank you to Peter and Manetta for a wonderful two night stay. Room very very clean and comfortable, breakfast excellent , had kippers and haddock wonderful. Will definitely stay here again next time in the area. Thank you both.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CharlesV9624MG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

booked a five night break in the suite. on arrival we were greeted by Manetta who directed us to the car park at the rear of the building where we were met by pete who took our luggage up to our room. The room was great, the bed was really comfy (didn't want to get out of it in the morning). Breakfast was of a high standard and nothing was too much trouble. would highly recommand a stay at the sandpiper

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed for four nights in room one. The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean (two things we forgot to mention on checkout tho- the mattress is beginning to wallow- I'm not that big but ended up rolled into the middle each morning. Also the shower head fastening needs replacing- minor niggles but worth mentioning to make it perfect)
Breakfast was excellent - they use a quality sausage and cook crispy bacon. I also enjoyed the fish one morning too. Peter remembers each guest's quirks- brown sauce for me!
They recommended good restaurants too esp Ditto just across the road (you have to book)
We were able to have two car free days leaving our car on site and using a bus to do two coastal walks - brilliant views.
We did have good weather and this obviously makes a big difference but Whitby is a great place to explore and The Sandpiper a good base to do so.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tricia0763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just got back from a 2 night stay here for my birthday. On arrival we were given a welcome by the owners and given a map of the best places to eat. We stayed in the king room which was lovely and spacious as well as being very clean. Breakfast was delicious and nothing was too much trouble, after not eating the bread crusts the first morning the following morning my sausage sandwich was brought out with the crusts cut off which shows how much attention they payed to what I liked. The owners made us feel so welcome and it felt like such a homely place. Couldn't fault it at all and can't wait for our next break here.
Would encourage anyone to stay here, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plantpott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

stayed at sandpiper many times over the years never loses its charm and hospitality, nice central location easy reach of shops and attractions, we park the car up and that's it for 3-4 days, we walk and bus everywhere, stayed in both b and b and apartments Peter and Minetta will always when they can accommodate you in some way great couple! and breakfast don't ask best around all freshly cooked and using local produce. Back again soon we hope. Graham and Linda Ox

Room Tip: 1st floor overlooking street comfy sofa, relax chill out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindao1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
646 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 20 in Whitby
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#18 of 20 in Whitby
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth House
Elizabeth House
#2 of 52 in Whitby
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 152 in Whitby
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper House

Address: 4 Belle Vue Terrace, Whitby YO21 3EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £71 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Whitby, with reserved/free parking.Sandpiper offers a bolt hole which offers a home from home with luxury touches.We have invested alot of time money and energy ensuring we offer the best accomodation we can provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Sandpiper House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing