We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandpiper House
Nearby Hotels
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Resolution Hotel(Whitby)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 31/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$184/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 02/06
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$131
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunsley Hall(Whitby)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (685)
Filter reviews
684 results
Traveller rating
618
59
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
618
59
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeter manettasleigh bedking roomhigh standardfirst classparking spaceguest housedouble showerlots of choicebreakfast was excellentnothing is too much troublewarm welcomefriendly hostson arrivalwalk in showerlocation is idealfeel very welcome
Filter
Updating list...
314 - 319 of 684 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Wonderful stay at sandpiper, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was amazing and plenty of choice. Peter and his wife, were excellent hosts. Would highly recommend this B & B to anyone looking to stay in Whitby.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My wife and I have just returned from an incredible 4 night stay in the suite with reserved parking. The location is excellent and a parking space in Whitby is a real advantage.

Location: Belle Vue Terrace is a central location near the whalebones. As you exit the front door, turn left to go into the town centre and right to go to the sea and West Cliff. For the less mobile, the excellent tour bus stops at the Whalebones and drops off at all of the key locations around Whitby. The town is famous for its hills, but after 4 days they can get tiring, especially after a meal in one of the many great restaurants.

The Town: I love it. Seafood restaurants galore and loads of little shops, great pubs and stunning walks with unforgettable scenery. The town has a long history and everyone we met was friendly and happy to chat. It also feels incredibly safe. BUT BEWARE! Do not walk along eating food outside. The seagulls are huge and they got so big because they are incredible thieves.

Sandpiper House:

By far, the best B&B I have ever stayed in. The hosts are friendly, and nothing is too much trouble. The house is impeccably clean and the breakfasts are superb. We stayed in the suite on the top floor. The bedroom was large with a great bed, leather settee and quality furniture. The bathroom was large and has high quality fittings and plumbing. You have to give the shower a moment to get started but it is Whitby, and you are on the top floor. Even the soaps and shampoo provided were excellent.

I honestly can not recommend the suite highly enough. If it is available, and you can afford it, go for the suite. You will thank me for the parking space, and then you will lie on the bed...

It only remains for me to thank our hosts for an amazing holiday and we look forward to coming back soon.

Terry & Barbara Gray

PS I couldn't tell you about the wifi access, I was on holiday and avoided it.

Room Tip: Go for the suite. It is Amazing. Parking can be a problem in Whitby and the reserved space is a huge bonus.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This was a last minute getaway and we were lucky enough to get the last room at sandpiper house.

Peter and his wife were great. Breakfast was yummy with lots of choice.
The room was spotless and a modern bathroom.
Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts...

location was so handy and very accessible to all sorts of places...

we would love to return...maybe next year!

Jess and jack

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marina25marina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

stumbled upon this b&b when looking for somewhere to stay for one night, our room was spacious and very clean,tea, coffee and biscuits complimentary water and sweeties ,little thing like this say a lot, breakfast was excellent and the reception was helpful and very friendly, would stay again.

Room Tip: book your room and park, was free with a voucher, short walking to attraction
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank randjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our stay at Sandpiper house was fantastic from start to finish. Very clean and tastefully decorated room. Really welcoming reception on arrival and felt the owners went out of their way to make our stay extra special throughout. Breakfast was of a really high standard with lots of choice and a brilliant vegetarian option as well!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuthEllA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews