We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A first class guest house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandpiper House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandpiper House
Ranked #13 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Yorkshire
2 reviews
“A first class guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2009

We have stayed at the Sandiper guest house a number of times and we have always enjoyed our stay very much. It is well located being only three minutes walk from the sea front and the town centre. The owners make you feel very welcome through out your stay. An excellent traditional english breakfast with all the trimmings is provided by the owners. The rooms we stayed in had been recently refurbished, were very comfortable and well appointed. Would definately recommend this guest house especially for couples wishing to have a relaxing quality break..

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    55
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
48
424
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ponty
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2009

Just back from a much needed break at Whitby. We stayed for 3 nights at the Sandpiper B&B and were really pleased with our accom. The room and ensuite were spotlessly clean, looked to be newly decorated and had two comfy beds, one for the little 'un. Parking was easy and free. Breakfast was really nice with our eggs cooked as we wanted, the leaf tea was a nice treat. This was our first time in a B&B with our three yr old and we all enjoyed the experience. The owners are the perfect hosts and give a presonal service that is not too much, not too little. A highly recommended B&B in a great location.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PontyHodgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2009

We stayed at the Sandpiper for three nights.
The Guest House is well presented and our room was comfortable. The owners proved to be very friendly and chatty, and any requests were swiftly dealt with.
Breakfast was very good and freshly cooked.
It is in a good position for both the seafront and town too, and its position means that both are close-by. Lots of free parking around the area too (including directly outside the Guest House).
An ideal establishment for anybody seeking a comfortable stay in a good location in Whitby.
Glenn and Jackie

Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wftesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2008

We've stayed at the Sandpiper 3 times now and each time has been great.
The location is perfect for us as it's only a 5 mins walk to the West Cliff and there's free parking on the surrounding streets....However, you do need to get there early to get a space!
The owners, Peter & Manetta, make you feel welcome and always have a smile on their faces....Even at 8 o'clock in the morning!
The rooms are decorated nicely (I like the 'pink' room) and are fresh and clean when you arrive. The rooms are provided with fresh towels and plenty of tea and coffee to keep you going throughout your stay.
Breakfast is served between 8 and 9 o'clock which sounds a bit early, but it gets you up and going so you don't waste your day.
The 'full english' is lovely and there's plenty of it too....There's even enough to satisfy my other half which is an acheivement in itself! It deffinitely keeps you going till mid afternoon.
All in all, the Sandpiper is our favorite guest house in Whitby and will continue to stay there whenever we can...In fact, we're booked in for a weekend in November and we can't wait!

Helen & Adam.

  • Liked — The breakfast and hospitality
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hshaw75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2008

We booked our stay on the internet via the Whitby on line site, and looking through the huge variety of accommodation available we chose the Sandpiper as it looked clean, tidy and the closeness to the town centre seemed ideal. We were not disappointed, the friendly warm welcome we received on arrival was wonderful, the room was well appointed and clean. The en-suite shower had a plentiful supply of hot water. The full english breakfast was outstanding and set us up for a full day of walking and sight seeing.

  • Liked — Friendly, Clean, closeness to town.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loualGrantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2008

Peter and Manetta couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming, from providing a map and guidance on where to eat in the evening to storing our rather smelly Fortune kippers in their fridge until we left. Great location with plenty of free parking outside, good quality breakfast and a lovely bedroom. thanks

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank Knockout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2008

I highly recommend this B+B for a place to stay. I'd seen this place on the web so checked it out on trip advisor it had really good reviews we hadn't booked we just went up to Whitby on the off chance of getting in somewhere the Sandpiper was the first place we tried. We was lucky enough to grab the last room in the place the reviews I read was spot on! the place was clean the owners friendly and welcoming and the breakfasts were amazing. We've stayed in a few B+B's in Whitby over the last couple of years and this one is by far the best it made for a pleasant and comfortable break, we will definitely be returning.

  • Liked — Clean, friendly and a welcoming place
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HullGlobetrotter76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.1 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
#14 of 20 in Whitby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#2 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper House

Property: Sandpiper House
Address: 4 Belle Vue Terrace, Whitby YO21 3EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Whitby, with reserved/free parking.Sandpiper offers a bolt hole which offers a home from home with luxury touches.We have invested alot of time money and energy ensuring we offer the best accomodation we can provide. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandpiper House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing