We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem hidden in Whitby, memorable from arrival to departure excellent...”
Review of Sandpiper House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandpiper House
Ranked #11 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A gem hidden in Whitby, memorable from arrival to departure excellent...”
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We found the Sandpiper on the internet and stayed there after reading reviews on this site, we were not disappointed from Peter helping us in with our bags to the farewell as we left our stay was excellent. We stayed in the suite which was both beautiful and comfortable, the crisp cotton sheets plush carpet and gorgeous bathroom were much appreciated by us. The next treat was breakfast which was delicious well presented cooked and served we truely could not have asked for more....we were with friends who also echoed our comments...Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    57
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
48
451
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Peter could'nt of made us feel any more welcome than he did..He told us where to go to eat. cheap and expensive. plus where to vist. Breakfast was severed with a smile . He was very easy to talk to.
Room was spotless. Bed .was very very comfable bedding lovely.
Breakfast was hot and plentiful.
IT was my first time in whitby but it won't be my last and i will be returning to Sandpiper with joy .

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondeonedrinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Wow. What can I say Peter and Manetta nice people, nice location, good room. But the breakfast. Fresh eggs, lean bacon, local sausage plus the rest. topped with real tea no tea bags. Nothing too much trouble. All this served by Peter with a smile. Made everyone welcome. See you next year.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastbourne
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Good location. Handy parking.Great breakfasts. Friendly hosts.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastbourneKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2010

My friends and I visit Whitby each year, and have stayed at the Sandpiper for the last 3 years. We were a large party of 10 and therefore booked the majority of rooms. All rooms were decorated very nicely and have a warm homely feel to them. The room itself had obviously been planned with plenty of thought about what guests actually need - excellent and versatile lighting; a lovely bathroom with a decent shower; ample storage space, and "proper" coathangers rather than the usual hotel variety; a hairdryer and plenty of power sockets, including some by the bed for convenient charging of mobiles or other electronic devices Everywhere is spotlessly clean and the owners are exceptionally helpful. In addition, we especially liked the breakfast room and the quality and choice of breakfast food. Recommended unreservedly.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elms10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2010

When people seek accommodation, their expectation is for clean and comfortable surroundings, and when the package includes breakfast, the expectation is for a substantial meal, cooked to perfection and presented as an appetising one, again in pleasant and clean surroundings. They also expect the service to be attentive and as prompt as is possible, with the added plus of 'service with a smile'.

Look no further than Sandpiper House for your expectations to be met, and probably exceeded! Hosted by Peter and Manetta, you could not wish for anything better. Peter is an excellent 'front' man, offering his services, help and advice, whilst Manetta is the 'Chef' and no doubt the internal services person.

Having stayed in other establishments, including some major hotels, Sandpiper is up there in our top three. We congratulate Peter and Manetta for the standard to be found in all departments, and thank them for making our stay really enjoyable. They are in terms of managers of their business that rare commodity of thoroughly decent and professional people. Our recommendation is of the highest - to all.
T & A (France)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allisonplus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2010

This B&B is just a short walk to town centre.

Peter and Manetta are very friendly and welcoming. The B&B is very clean and tidy, and the room that we stayed in was the suite which had been decorated to a very high standard. The bathroom is fantastic with a roll top bath and a walk in shower. The bed is also a great feature.

Also in the room was a Ipod docking player/radio alarm clock - A nice touch

The quality of the locally sourced products for breakfast are second to none and you can really taste the quality of the Sausage and Bacon.

I have visted Whitby several time and stayed in different B&B's but this one now stands out for all the right reasons and I will definately be going back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiefy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,017 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,111 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth House
Elizabeth House
#2 of 52 in Whitby
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 151 in Whitby
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper House

Property: Sandpiper House
Address: 4 Belle Vue Terrace, Whitby YO21 3EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Whitby, with reserved/free parking.Sandpiper offers a bolt hole which offers a home from home with luxury touches.We have invested alot of time money and energy ensuring we offer the best accomodation we can provide. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandpiper House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing