We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great for a short family break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Doves Haven

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Our playground for the kids
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ReidsNott...
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for a short family break”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Lovely place to stay for a short break. Well-equipped property and the owners on site but not intrusive should you need anything. Our heating packed up on our second evening and the owner came over immediately and fixed it.

The play park area is great for kids and you can see them from inside the cottage. Another bonus for families is the games room. Although having a full complement of pool balls for the pool table (at 50p a game) would have made it better; this was one thing my 9 year old son was looking forward to as quality father-son chill time.

Supermarket close by is very convenient as is the Cinder Track that takes you on a walk into Whitby. Would highly recommend wellies! The farm gets boggy when wet (and this *is Whitby). To get to the Cinder Track you have to walk across a long-grass field and the walk itself is prone to being muddy! Don't let this deter you from a lovely walk and a lovely retreat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe H
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We arrived to find a very tidy and well equipped cottage. Our 8 and 9 year old shot straight upstairs and then straight outside on to the play park. Perfect for our weekend break. The beds are comfortable. How lovely to find a bone china tea set as well as the usual mugs.
The location is ideal, off a beaten track so there is very little traffic to worry about. The dog loves it here. It is straight out if the door and over the fields. There is also a track that takes you straight to Robin Hoods Bay and then Scarborough should you fancy a hike. There is also a lovely view of the Abby from the field.
The owners are very friendly and helpful. Sainsburys is a 10 minute walk and a car is advisable. Loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon g
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“what a lovely relaxing place to stay”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

absolutely lovely little cottage. we really enjoyed our couple of nights away and will most likely go again. yes the bathrooms are a little low in height but we had no issues. Was quite novel being woken up by a cockerel.

only 5 minutes walk to Sainsburys for supplies too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noddy76
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Although the upstairs was a little cramped, in fact I would suggest you take a bump hat with you, the downstairs was spacious and reasonably comfortable. We had a problem with the fridge, but our hosts sorted this pretty swiftly. Parking for two cars was no problem, and the bad smells from the treatment works only really affected us on one day out of the week, and then that was only outside. The supermarket was only a few minutes walk away, which was really handy. The phone signal was pretty weak, but the Wi-Fi was easy to connect too. But it is the location that sells it for me. A short drive to both Whitby and Robin Hoods Bay where parking was OK, but can see it being a problem in the summer months. To the rear of the property is The Cinder Track, an disused railway line where you can walk to both Whitby and Robin Hoods Bay if you legs are up to it. We walked to the Larpool Viaduct where you get a good view of the Esk valley.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bumping heads upstairs!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
purpletra...
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
558 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Very pleasant but very small bedrooms”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A very pleasant situation, well away from the main road.
Our 1st impressions were not good as when we arrived all we could smell was the adjacent water treatment works but after a while we did not notice the smell. We could not smell it in the cottage st any time.
The downstairs of the cottage is very good and has a microwave and washing machine. Plenty of comfortable chairs and a dining area. Wifi and TV reception is excellent.
The only slight niggle, and it is very slight, is that although there are 4 of us their are only 3 wine glasses. Also no teas spoons.
The bedrooms are as described and have an extremely low ceiling. The shower is difficult to use if you are over 5'4". My wife was OK but being 6' I found that I could not stand up straight to use it. To be fair the bedroom size is clearly stated in the property description and photo's but not the size of the bathroom.
The key was in the door awaiting our arrival and we were told that someone would be their to greet us but this was not the case.
This is still a very good place to stay.
There is a good bus service from just down the lane, although you can also use the free Sainsbury's bus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The size of the bedrooms and bathroom
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petlovers...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accommodation, very friendly hosts: great location”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Spent an enjoyable three nights at Doves Haven, had everything we needed. Great location for visiting North Yorkshire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise W
2 reviews
“Lovely little cottage!”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a one night stay, it was a last minute night away and we were lucky enough to get one night in Doves Haven cottage. It was perfect for what we needed. The cottage was comfortable (lovely beds) and had everything you would need. The grounds and playground were perfect for my young children. I would have loved tostay longer and we will definitely return but for more nights next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing