We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Doves Haven

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Our playground for the kids
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marie O
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 28 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Lovely place had a lovely holiday with family close enough to everything , lots of anamals to see would recommend to any family

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy pet friendly cottage”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This lovely cottage is only a 5 minute drive from the centre of Whitby, but it is so quiet and peaceful. There is a Sainsbury's almost opposite the entrance to the site, and also a public house. The cottage its self is small but jam packed with character providing all the amenities needed for a short break. There are 2 bedrooms both ensuite. It is open plan downstairs but is so cosy and homely. It is set in lovely grounds, with a children's play area, barbecue and games room. The real bonus for us that it is pet friendly. Can't wait to visit again soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daz L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“:-)”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The place where we stayed was good, lovely and quiet, clean and tidy,the kids loved it, so that's all that matters, the chickens are a bit over friendly hahaha

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamjamcoo...
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in an ideal position to discover Whitby”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a lovely relaxed weekend in this lovely little cottage. It was ideal for the 4 of us and our dog. It is ideally situated to be able to tour Whitby and the surrounding arears. The cottage had everything we needed, I would use the cottage again and would recommend the cottage to anyone wanting a relaxed place to stay. It was only 40 mins walk to the centre of Whitby and there are some lovely walks to take.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tophiller
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

OK - so the reason we found this place 'home from home' is that we've got geese, ducks and chickens at home, and this place has all these and so much more besides!! It is well worth taking the time to visit all the rescue birds on the site.

Four of us stayed - all adults. We found the cottage extremely well equipped and clean. We had been warned of the low beams in the bedrooms so were ready for this. They ARE low and I'd like to try and re-arrange the beds so that the risk of banging your head is reduced - but I'm sure the owners have thought of this. We had plenty of hot water and the showers worked well. The site is situated next to a sewage treatment works but during our stay - with temperatures in the 70s - the smell was barely noticable. The STW is screened with trees.

We had dogs with us and they really enjoyed the open spaces to play safely. For us the games room was an added bonus.

The beauty of this place is its location. It is in open countryside yet is only a 5 - 10 minute drive from all the attractions in Whitby. It is also a great base from which to explore the North York Moors, Robin Hood's Bay and Scarborough. A lovely little holiday cottage in a great location.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing