We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Lovely room"”
Review of Elford Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elford Guest House
Ranked #53 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Todmorden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Lovely room"”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed at Elford for two nights in May and would highly recommend it! A Nice Victorian buiding which is very nicely decorated in the period style. Our room was very spacious and comfortable and we found it to be excellent value for money. The breakfast basket had a very good selection in it, and for us made a refeshing change after a few days of fry-ups!
Elford is just a five minute stroll down into Whitby (walk through Pannett park) and has car parking, which can be a bit tricky in Whitby. Our hosts at Elford were exceptional and when we are back in Whitby we will book again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank octosquid888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    57
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
13
213
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have just arrived back from a long weekend away at the Elford Guest House which we booked back in January as a party of four couples on motorbikes for a Bank Holiday weekend break. Unfortunately, the lead up to our weekend away was ruined by the fact that we couldn't get hold of the owners for over a week beforehand by landline, mobile or email, despite leaving numerous messages, which we obviously found greatly disturbing as we didn't want to arrive on a Friday evening and find that we didn't have any accommodation. After a lot of discussion and consideration of our options at such a late stage, we decided to take a risk and go anyway. It turned out that the owners had been away and left other Managers in charge, who hadn't answered either phone all week or checked any messages. Having checked other reviews we notice that someone else had this problem in the past so I would sincerely hope that this is something that won't happen again.

Once we arrived, the Elford Guest House was beautiful and just as described on the website and in other reviews. It is an extremely elegant Edwardian house with lovely original features. It had been beautifully decorated and had lovely antique furniture. We had a good sized room on the first floor but our friends were all on the second floor which, as others have mentioned, had rooms which felt smaller due to the sloping ceilings.

The breakfast basket system worked very well and had a good variety of cereals, fruit, warm bread, warm eggs, fruit juice and yoghurts. One of the couples in our party found that as their room was smaller and didn't have a proper table they ended up eating their breakfast on their laps which wasn't the easiest thing.

The location of the Guest House is great, 10 minutes down to all the restaurants etc on the front. There is a bit of an up hill walk to get back afterwards but we didn't find it a problem. There is great parking and for motorbikes it was perfect, being a good size and no gravel! It is also very easy to find when coming into Whitby, which was a bonus after a long and arduous ride through thick fog!

Linda and Ged, the owners, were very welcoming and apologetic regarding our initial problems. I would recommend the Elford and would happily go there again. One other useful point for anyone who is gluten free, it is worth mentioning this when booking as Linda is happy to supply gluten free breakfast alternatives.

Room Tip: Room 1 on the first floor is a lovely size at the front of the house with a good size shower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoDiscover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My partner and I stayed at Elford Guest House for 3 nights over the May Day bank holiday. In comparison to other places I'd looked at before booking, the price for 3 nights over a bank holiday was really good - which did make me worry that it might be cheaper for a reason. I had nothing to worry about. When we got there we were welcomed by Linda who showed us to our lovely room on the top floor. The room was spotless as was the bathroom. A breakfast basket was delivered every morning at 8.30am. The basket is just left outside your door so you don't need to worry about answering the door to anyone having just woken up! It had booked eggs, warm baguettes, cereal, a pint of milk, fruit and cereals - definitely more than enough! In terms of location it is just a 5-10 minute walk into whitby - all down hill. We were thankful for the uphill walk on the way home at night as it helped to burn off all the fish and chips! I would highly recommend Elford House and would definitely stay there again if we return to Whitby.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jobes_jobells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. The setting is very convenient for the town and routes to elsewhere. The room we had was of a high standard and the bed was excellent. Breakfast was via the basket system described elsewhere and worked very well indeed for us. The owners are lovely. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TigersFan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely home, lovely friendly hosts. Loved their ease of breakfasts delivery to rooms. Highly recommend to all. Rooms decorated with a modern twist. Convenient location to the town, just a short stroll. Good for walking back after a great dinner from many of the the great places to eat

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Comfy beds, quiet room, warm hosts and ample brekky. Has off street parking and free wifi. We only stayed here for 1 night and would happily stay again, and recommend to others. It is far enough away from town to not have to worry about crowds, but near enough to walk to for restaurants etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNS1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner in February for 2 nights , what a lovely place , clean and tidy , very friendly owners , adored the breakfast in a basket so we didn't have to rush in a morning. Would highly recommend a stay here :-)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevyanne67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,133 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wheeldale
The Wheeldale
#12 of 20 in Whitby
371 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#20 of 151 in Whitby
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Broomfield House
Broomfield House
#36 of 151 in Whitby
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#9 of 151 in Whitby
378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arundel House
Arundel House
#28 of 151 in Whitby
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elford Guest House

Property: Elford Guest House
Address: 10 Prospect Hill, Whitby YO21 1QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Elford Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have availability throughout the year. To make sure you are not paying inflated booking prices please ring or e-mail for our exclusive deals. What makes Elford House different to other Guest Houses is that we deliver a continental breakfast to your door, so no getting up too early. We offer double en-suite accommodation, FREE WiFi and GUARENTEED OFF ROAD PARKING, a huge bonus in Whitby. We do not have facilities for children and do not accept large parties or pets and for the comfort of all our guests Elford House operates a strict non smoking policy. Once again please ring or e-mail for availability. Thank you, Linda and Ged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elford Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing