We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elford Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Resolution Hotel(Whitby)(Great Value!)
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dunsley Hall(Whitby)
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$321
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hudsons(Whitby)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Larpool Hall(Whitby)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
208
61
10
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
208
61
10
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastboiled eggseach morningguest housewarm baguetteyogurtprospect hillsteepish hillbedroom doorb bminute walklovely housetop floororiginal featuresplenty to eatwhitby town centreoff street parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights here and would recommend it for a relaxing stay. The room was spotless and the bed was really comfortable.Loved the breakfast in a basket loads of variety and plenty of it. The house is in keeping with the character and charm of Whitby and the parking arrangements make it easy to get the car in and out if you want to use it unlike some places we have stayed once you park up its a juggling act to get it out again. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here over the May bank holiday week end. The B&B is a beautiful house with lots of character. Only a 10 min walk into Whitby town centre so ideally situated for all the bars and restaurants. Lovely hosts and lovely clean accommodation. Breakfast is continental style and eaten in your room which gives you the option to have a lazy breakfast :) The room we stayed in however didn't have a dining table to eat at just a small coffee table. A small dining table under the window would've been a little more comfortable but this wasn't a major issue. The shower in our room was very noisy and sounded like a hairdryer so we were conscious of disturbing the other guests. In our group there were 8 friends stayed at the hotel and a communal room where we could've sat in the evening and chatted or played cards together would've made our week end break even better. All in all though would recommend this B&B and would stay again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Second time staying and it was just as lovely. We had a tiny room but it was much cheaper than the first stay and we got to stay longer.

Situated very close to Whitby centre so it's an ideal place to stay. The breakfast was wonderful as always and was a perfect way to start the day. Although the room was tiny it was immaculate and nicely furnished.

I loved the privacy of the hotel as you didn't have to worry about when the cleaners were coming in and things, it was your space. It was strange leaving your rubbish and used crockery outside the door and it appearing perfectly clean later on with no human interaction at all. One day we needed more milk for teas and the only number was for the main landline as you walk in so the no contact with the owners at all had its pros and cons. We kept milk from breakfast for teas but there was a small hole in the base and it leaked everywhere but we needed to keep it so put a carrier bag under it! You've got to laugh.

If I were to be pinickity only one bedside lamp worked and the shower was cracked a little bit. The breakfast basket could have more spoons as you have to use the same spoon for cereal and the hard boiled egg!

Overall I would definitely recommend this place to a friend and was really impressed and only have minor criticisms. I don't think I will stay anywhere else in Whitby as this place is so reliable, each room has such a personality too so it doesn't feel samey.

Thank you Elford House!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abigail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights on our first ever visit to Whitby. An absolutely lovely, spacious B&B with -in the case of ours- absolutely massive rooms. The room came complete with a dining area and a great leather sofa aswell as the sleeping area and a nice en-suite and yet the room was still fantastically spacious.
With breakfast delivered to your door in a kind of picnic basket fashion which we found to be excellent you can start the day off at your own pace and not have to worry about rushing down for breakfast!
Parking was excellent and Elford House was greatly situated on the approach into Whitby with only a 5 minute stroll into Whitby itself.

Highly recommended B&B!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren-E73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed at Elford for two nights in May and would highly recommend it! A Nice Victorian buiding which is very nicely decorated in the period style. Our room was very spacious and comfortable and we found it to be excellent value for money. The breakfast basket had a very good selection in it, and for us made a refeshing change after a few days of fry-ups!
Elford is just a five minute stroll down into Whitby (walk through Pannett park) and has car parking, which can be a bit tricky in Whitby. Our hosts at Elford were exceptional and when we are back in Whitby we will book again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank octosquid888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews