We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and efficient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beaches Guest House

Beaches Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beaches Guest House
Ranked #98 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Charming and efficient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Stayed over goth w/end. Bit apprehensive as it was late booking but no need to worry. I had a pleasant stay in comfy room , good breakfast and hospitable owner. Well done the beaches. Will book again and definitely recommend to others

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HYPNO69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    20
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

Just wright for a weekend (or longer) stay in Whitby..Enjoyed staying at the Beaches Guest House.
Very understanding and accommodating too, I have trouble walking up stairs, so I was offered a room (with own shower) on the first floor, which I thought was very considerate.
Went to Whitby to celabrate a friends wedding,***** Congratulations " Hilda & Paul "******.
Some of the guest stayed in this guest house and filled the one next door too.
"The Blencathra", I would recomend both.
The rooms basic, but very clean and tidy. Reasonable tariff and the breakfast was delicious too...... In walking distance to the town centre.
So "Thank You " Tamsin ( the Proprietor) and yer Mum, for making our stay in Whitby a very good one. Look forward to our next visit. Many Many Thanks.. Sincere Regards. Chrissy & Margaret.. 8-) xx

Room Tip: No lifts So first floor rooms very accommodating. I stayed in room number 2 .A very large room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willerby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stayed in room 7 up in the attic which was a very good size with lovely views of the Abbey. Not for the faint hearted though with all the stairs to climb (I must improve my fitness!) Bathroom was quite large with a good shower, plenty of towels and soap provided (my only criticism would be that there was no hairdryer in the room). Tamsin the owner was very friendly and chatty. Breakfast was good and filling, setting us up for the cold windy days! Plenty of on street parking available and just a few minutes walk from the centre of town.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank helenc34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

w e booked this guest house at the last minute as our flights to poland were cancelled due to the volcanic ash! The rooms were very clean with ensuite some more spacious than others, as there were 3 couples, we had room 7 which had great views over whitby and the abbey. The breakfast were excellant and very filling consisting of wide choice of cereals, fresh orange or apple juice, tea or coffee and full english breakfast with toast and homemade preserves.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wicker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, Herts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2007

After staying at several so-so guest houses in Whitby, we go twice a year. And have been for 7 years. One year we left our booking rather late. I gave a list of phone numbers to my girlfriend to try and book our stay. (I had tried, unsucessfully, for three days) She got through (On the first number) to David, who was prepared to save a room for us which had become available. Not knowing what to expect we arrived and was received in a most friendly and helpful manner. The rooms were clean and simply but up to date, with power shower ensuite. In the morning we were treated to a hearty breakfast, which has improved still further as the owners have sourced their own suppliers. (the sausages are a particular favorite of mine) We now stay in The Abbey Room with its stunning views over the Abbey.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank vinick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Granby
The Granby
#114 of 152 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grantley House
Grantley House
#124 of 152 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#122 of 152 in Whitby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Waverley
The Waverley
#25 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosewood Bed and Breakfast
2.8 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#52 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Guest House

Property: Beaches Guest House
Address: 12 Crescent Avenue, Whitby YO21 3ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Beaches Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Beaches Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing