We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guesthouse”

Beaches Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beaches Guest House
Ranked #101 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
goole
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely guesthouse”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here with our dog for 1 night and was made very welcome by the host, who is very chatty and helpful. room was spotless with lovely view of abbey breakfast was great . Will book again if we return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hunter01Goole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    20
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night with our 4year old and had a lovely visit. Very central location, close to the beach and harbour. Food was lovely and we felt very welcome. Our room was spacious and very clean. Will stay sgain.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Lovely and clean house, tamsin would do anything to make u feel welcome as would the waitress. We stayed with our 2 yr old and 8 yr old, the location was perfect, just a short but lovely walk to the beach and the harbour then onto the abbey's 199 steps and so up to the abbey which is great for all ages. Back to the guesthouse - we wil definetly be goin back and will have no hesitation in recommending it to family and friends. Thank you for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed at Beahces last minute on a improptu long weekend away. The price was cheap so we paid a little extra for the Abbey View, which I dont think I would again (Window was a bit small, I dont know what I was expecting like for the money I paid!) - but I definately would stay here.
The rooms were adequate size and very very clean. The breakfast was good and served quickly with a friendly morning welcome!
All in all a good find, you cant get any cheaper in Whitby, certainly not for the service and types of rooms on offer here at Beaches!

Room Tip: We paid for the extra Abbey View, but it wasn't anything outstanding, I think the rooms higher u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

A friendly well run guest home, very clean and tidy, first class breakfast, great shower , good night sheep in comfy bed, this is a real gem of a guest house If in Whitby again will stay at Beaches. Tamsin was very helpful and always cheerful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogerdodger_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Stayed over goth w/end. Bit apprehensive as it was late booking but no need to worry. I had a pleasant stay in comfy room , good breakfast and hospitable owner. Well done the beaches. Will book again and definitely recommend to others

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HYPNO69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Just wright for a weekend (or longer) stay in Whitby..Enjoyed staying at the Beaches Guest House.
Very understanding and accommodating too, I have trouble walking up stairs, so I was offered a room (with own shower) on the first floor, which I thought was very considerate.
Went to Whitby to celabrate a friends wedding,***** Congratulations " Hilda & Paul "******.
Some of the guest stayed in this guest house and filled the one next door too.
"The Blencathra", I would recomend both.
The rooms basic, but very clean and tidy. Reasonable tariff and the breakfast was delicious too...... In walking distance to the town centre.
So "Thank You " Tamsin ( the Proprietor) and yer Mum, for making our stay in Whitby a very good one. Look forward to our next visit. Many Many Thanks.. Sincere Regards. Chrissy & Margaret.. 8-) xx

Room Tip: No lifts So first floor rooms very accommodating. I stayed in room number 2 .A very large room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#123 of 151 in Whitby
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Endeavour
The Endeavour
#81 of 151 in Whitby
39 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#57 of 151 in Whitby
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Wilson Arms
The Wilson Arms
#122 of 151 in Whitby
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prospect House Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Ellies Guesthouse
Ellies Guesthouse
#18 of 151 in Whitby
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Guest House

Property: Beaches Guest House
Address: 12 Crescent Avenue, Whitby YO21 3ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Beaches Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beaches Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing