We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
High Tor Guesthouse
Ranked #11 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We have just returned from a two day break at High Tor what can we say other than just PERFECT
a lovely room, spotlessly clean, a wonderful breakfast and very nice hosts who where both friendly and helpful I would recommend this to anyone, we will definitely be back again when we stay in Whitby

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
214
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Wonderful b+b spotlessly clean,very welcoming hosts and a breakfast to die for,certainly a very good weekend all round ,a nice stroll to Whitbys harbour .Followed by fish and chips (best in the world)

Room Tip: Attic rooms probably no good for anyone with walking difficulties
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil52_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We had a lovely stay at this bed and breakfast. the room was very comfortable and well equiped with a large bed, and spotlessly clean,
The beakfast was also excellent and set you upfor the day. The location perfect about 5 minutes from the center of town. but the best thing were the hosts, both were welcoming and freindly. will definatly be back the next time we are in Witby.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBoysNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maltisa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Booked into High Tor Fri 31/8/2012 , was met by Tina who explained breakfast times and what we would like for breakfast,then without any fuss showed straight to rooms,beautifully kept rooms , spotlessly clean with lovely en-suite and power shower,few flights of stairs to climb as we had attic rooms but no big deal.Had frontdoor key so didnt matter whatever time you came back, the breakfast was fantastic from full english to whatever you wanted,and help yourself to cereals,real fruitjuice,and more, tea,coffee, toast,nothing was to much trouble for the owners Tina and Alan,best b+b we have stayed in and would go back anytime and recommend the High Tor to friends and family.

Room Tip: If your not so good on your legs book a lower floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank studsramrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Still the best B & B my wife and I have ever stayed in. Lovely spacious room, quality fixtures and fittings, flat screen TV. Lovely tiled bathroom, great shower and plenty of in room tea/coffee & Chocolate. The full english breakfast was excellent, as was the vegetarian option, and there was even marmite to spread on my toast. Awesome !!!

Room Tip: Have stayed twice and both rooms were exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LordThornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

Just spent 2 nights in the high tor b&b and it was beyond expectation for a b&b this couple could stare at Kim and aggie for hours trying to find dust and laugh all the way beautiful place lovely breakfast and a comfy nights sleep we stayed in the attic room and it was a hike to get to bed mind !! Enjoy we did

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahblouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed in this beautiful Guesthouse along with 6 other couples. The bedrooms where emaculate, comfortable and so clean it was a pleasure to stay there. Breakfast was first class and plenty of choice. Tina and Alan were really helpful and nothing was too much trouble. If you want a good place to stay I cannot fault this please try it. Thank you Tina and Alan

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,044 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#9 of 20 in Whitby
1,129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hudsons
Hudsons
#8 of 20 in Whitby
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#9 of 151 in Whitby
378 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#5 of 151 in Whitby
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#22 of 151 in Whitby
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Tor Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Tor Guesthouse

Property: High Tor Guesthouse
Address: 7 Normanby Terrace | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Tor Guest House is an elegant Victorian town house set in the ancient North Yorkshire Maritime town of Whitby. Sue and Gary assure of a very warm welcome and the highest standards of cleanliness and hospitality, in a relaxed and friendly home from home. For your comfort we operate a strictly no smoking policy throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your High Tor Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing