We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
High Tor Guesthouse
Ranked #13 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Top Choice”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We have just returned from two nights in Whitby staying at High Tor, we went with friends and were all highly delighted with High Tor, from booking to leaving a well run efficient B&B, a warm friendly greeting from Tina and Alan, very chatty and informative, our rooms were spotless and beautifully decorated as were all the public areas, breakfast was piping hot, plentiful and just what we needed to set us up for exploring Whitby. A great B&B will definately be back

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda-Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
207
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aydin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Faultless. My wife and I stayed in the High Tor for 4 days and thoroughly enjoyed every minute.
Lovely breakfast and the whole place is spotlessly clean. We would definitely stay at the High Tor again. And the fish and chips in Whitby!! World Famous.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a lot of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandyndavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We have just returned from a two day break at High Tor what can we say other than just PERFECT
a lovely room, spotlessly clean, a wonderful breakfast and very nice hosts who where both friendly and helpful I would recommend this to anyone, we will definitely be back again when we stay in Whitby

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Wonderful b+b spotlessly clean,very welcoming hosts and a breakfast to die for,certainly a very good weekend all round ,a nice stroll to Whitbys harbour .Followed by fish and chips (best in the world)

Room Tip: Attic rooms probably no good for anyone with walking difficulties
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil52_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We had a lovely stay at this bed and breakfast. the room was very comfortable and well equiped with a large bed, and spotlessly clean,
The beakfast was also excellent and set you upfor the day. The location perfect about 5 minutes from the center of town. but the best thing were the hosts, both were welcoming and freindly. will definatly be back the next time we are in Witby.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBoysNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maltisa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Booked into High Tor Fri 31/8/2012 , was met by Tina who explained breakfast times and what we would like for breakfast,then without any fuss showed straight to rooms,beautifully kept rooms , spotlessly clean with lovely en-suite and power shower,few flights of stairs to climb as we had attic rooms but no big deal.Had frontdoor key so didnt matter whatever time you came back, the breakfast was fantastic from full english to whatever you wanted,and help yourself to cereals,real fruitjuice,and more, tea,coffee, toast,nothing was to much trouble for the owners Tina and Alan,best b+b we have stayed in and would go back anytime and recommend the High Tor to friends and family.

Room Tip: If your not so good on your legs book a lower floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank studsramrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Still the best B & B my wife and I have ever stayed in. Lovely spacious room, quality fixtures and fittings, flat screen TV. Lovely tiled bathroom, great shower and plenty of in room tea/coffee & Chocolate. The full english breakfast was excellent, as was the vegetarian option, and there was even marmite to spread on my toast. Awesome !!!

Room Tip: Have stayed twice and both rooms were exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LordThornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#6 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#18 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Tor Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Tor Guesthouse

Property: High Tor Guesthouse
Address: 7 Normanby Terrace | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Tor Guest House is an elegant Victorian town house set in the ancient North Yorkshire Maritime town of Whitby. Sue and Gary assure of a very warm welcome and the highest standards of cleanliness and hospitality, in a relaxed and friendly home from home. For your comfort we operate a strictly no smoking policy throughout. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing