We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
High Tor Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“absolutely lovely”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed at this lovely guest house for 2 nights at the beginning of Feb, Sue and Gary made the perfect hosts and will make you feel extremely welcome.The house is beautifully decorated to a very high stand.Our room 1 was spotlessly clean and very warm,with a very comfy bed, toiletries are also provided and lovely fluffy towels to wrap in after your power shower.Breakfast was perfectly cooked and really set you up for the day.Perfectly located for both the beautiful beach and the town.We would have no doubts in recommending this guest house,we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumzieEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
210
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed for Fri-Sun with my wife and two friends. Gary & Sue made us all very welcome. We stayed in room 1 which was decorated to a high standard. The en suite and room were extremely clean and we work in the Contract Cleaning business!!!!

The Breakfast was everything you could wish for perfectly cooked and plenty to eat.

The location in a beautiful Victorian House is Ideal for walking into the town. On the way you pas lovely shops and several local pubs.

We shall return soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed 2 nights 10-12 jan. 2 rooms. Both rooms were beautiful, with excellent cleanliness and service facilities. The beds were so comfortable, a great nights sleep had by all.

Breakfast choice was fantastic, and cooked to perfection. A wide range of choice to suit everyone.

The location was fantastic, only a street away from all the shops and restaurants.

Sue and Gary were more than helpful, ever so friendly and a pleasure to have met.

We will defiantly be returning and recommending to anyone wanting to stay in Whitby! Excellent value for money. Couldn't have been happier.

Thank you :-)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozzad85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
211 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at the High Tor for New Years Eve. We had room number 6, at the top of the house. Our room was spacious, kept spotless clean and had a very comfortable bed.
Sue and Gary were lovely hosts and their breakfasts were delicious.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolamy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed here with the rest of my girlfriends family as a reunion and weekend break, the address threw me for a minute or two because the streets have a name for each side of the street. So the guest house was on Normanby Terrace and the houses facing another. The High Tor was a beautiful Victorian building and full of the original features tastefully decorated ,
First impression was just how clean it was, our room was large and immaculate with a king size bed that was very comfortable.
The bathroom was tiled throughout and again immaculate with a very powerful shower and loads of piping hot water.
Breakfast was lovely , which you order on a card in the evening , if you want poached or fried scrambled .I was on a diet but I needn't have worried it was grilled and lean and lovely, with cereal and fresh fruit salad ..
The owners were very friendly and welcoming
Location 10 minutes from the beach and the magpie cafe with shops and some great restaurants nearby . And only 30/45 minutes from the ruined Abbey and other attractions .
Overall I had a great time here and will be making another visit in the new year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a 2 night stay at High Tor. This really is a little gem of a place. The breakfast was well worth gettig up for. Everything is done at a nice laid back pace so no rushing about to fit in with strict times :)
The hosts leave you to your own devices but are on hand if needed. Will definitely be staying at High Tor on are next visits to Whitby.

Dave & Lisa

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brun2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We have been staying at the High Tor for many years, Sue and Gary are the third owners we have met but they have maintained the high standards set by there predecessors. The whole establishment is immaculately clean, breakfast is probably the "best in town". Sue and Gary were very welcoming and very attentive to our needs. We visit Whitby at least twice a year and will continue to stay at the impeccable HIgh Tor

Room Tip: All rooms are of the highest standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.2 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,087 reviews
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#5 of 151 in Whitby
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbotsleigh
Abbotsleigh
#2 of 151 in Whitby
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Tor Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Tor Guesthouse

Property: High Tor Guesthouse
Address: 7 Normanby Terrace | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Tor Guest House is an elegant Victorian town house set in the ancient North Yorkshire Maritime town of Whitby. Sue and Gary assure of a very warm welcome and the highest standards of cleanliness and hospitality, in a relaxed and friendly home from home. For your comfort we operate a strictly no smoking policy throughout. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing