We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Whitby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
High Tor Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is our second trip to High Tor and in between visits, the guesthouse has been taken over by Sue and Gary. This guesthouse is my absolute favourite, the best one I have stayed in, ever. The bedrooms are fabulous and beautifully appointed. The beds are so, so comfy, an incredible nights sleep every time and the beds are huge with crisp cotton sheets and duvets. Sue and Gary are wonderful, welcoming hosts; they really make you feel at home. The breakfast is to die for, once experienced, you don't eat the rest of the day. Typically, we have fruit salad and juice to start, followed by toast and marmalade and a full English breakfast consisting of bacon, egg, sausage, hash brown, mushrooms and beans; other options are available. There are also cereals and yoghurts available. The en suite facilities are fantastic, wonderful shower. I have recommended them to family and friends and of course, as we love Whitby, we will be back next year. Of note, another advantage of them being on the west cliff, where the whalebone is, there is ample "free" on street parking. We have never had an issue regarding parking at all and it is totally safe to leave the car for a couple of days while you wander round Whitby. If you want to stay in Whitby, this is the place. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We have stayed in room 1 and room 3, both are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed two nights in the attic room 6 which was lovely and had great views. The B&B is super clean and located in the centre of Whitby. Parking was easy too. Sue and Gary were very friendly and welcomed us warmly. The breakfasts were delicious and generous. We would definitely stay again and would advise you book without hesitation, for this is a stunning B&B.

Room Tip: If you like attic rooms go for number 6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Honest_Ham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed at this lovely guest house for 2 nights at the beginning of Feb, Sue and Gary made the perfect hosts and will make you feel extremely welcome.The house is beautifully decorated to a very high stand.Our room 1 was spotlessly clean and very warm,with a very comfy bed, toiletries are also provided and lovely fluffy towels to wrap in after your power shower.Breakfast was perfectly cooked and really set you up for the day.Perfectly located for both the beautiful beach and the town.We would have no doubts in recommending this guest house,we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumzieEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed for Fri-Sun with my wife and two friends. Gary & Sue made us all very welcome. We stayed in room 1 which was decorated to a high standard. The en suite and room were extremely clean and we work in the Contract Cleaning business!!!!

The Breakfast was everything you could wish for perfectly cooked and plenty to eat.

The location in a beautiful Victorian House is Ideal for walking into the town. On the way you pas lovely shops and several local pubs.

We shall return soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed 2 nights 10-12 jan. 2 rooms. Both rooms were beautiful, with excellent cleanliness and service facilities. The beds were so comfortable, a great nights sleep had by all.

Breakfast choice was fantastic, and cooked to perfection. A wide range of choice to suit everyone.

The location was fantastic, only a street away from all the shops and restaurants.

Sue and Gary were more than helpful, ever so friendly and a pleasure to have met.

We will defiantly be returning and recommending to anyone wanting to stay in Whitby! Excellent value for money. Couldn't have been happier.

Thank you :-)

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lozzad85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at the High Tor for New Years Eve. We had room number 6, at the top of the house. Our room was spacious, kept spotless clean and had a very comfortable bed.
Sue and Gary were lovely hosts and their breakfasts were delicious.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolamy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed here with the rest of my girlfriends family as a reunion and weekend break, the address threw me for a minute or two because the streets have a name for each side of the street. So the guest house was on Normanby Terrace and the houses facing another. The High Tor was a beautiful Victorian building and full of the original features tastefully decorated ,
First impression was just how clean it was, our room was large and immaculate with a king size bed that was very comfortable.
The bathroom was tiled throughout and again immaculate with a very powerful shower and loads of piping hot water.
Breakfast was lovely , which you order on a card in the evening , if you want poached or fried scrambled .I was on a diet but I needn't have worried it was grilled and lean and lovely, with cereal and fresh fruit salad ..
The owners were very friendly and welcoming
Location 10 minutes from the beach and the magpie cafe with shops and some great restaurants nearby . And only 30/45 minutes from the ruined Abbey and other attractions .
Overall I had a great time here and will be making another visit in the new year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dillons of Whitby
Dillons of Whitby
#6 of 152 in Whitby
718 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#5 of 152 in Whitby
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abbotsleigh
Abbotsleigh
#3 of 152 in Whitby
503 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#20 of 152 in Whitby
622 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosewood Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Tor Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Tor Guesthouse

Address: 7 Normanby Terrace | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £73 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Tor Guest House is an elegant Victorian town house set in the ancient North Yorkshire Maritime town of Whitby. Sue and Gary assure of a very warm welcome and the highest standards of cleanliness and hospitality, in a relaxed and friendly home from home. For your comfort we operate a strictly no smoking policy throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your High Tor Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing