We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Launceston Villa Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #40 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield, Staffs
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast”
Reviewed 3 October 2007

Very effusive welcome - perhaps a bit too effusive - but very friendly and willing to give advice on places to go and places to eat. Breakfast was excellent, perfectly cooked and plenty of it - good toast ! A nice room, well appointed - although it does need a better placed mirror in the bedroom for hair drying ! highly recommend it

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillyfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
169
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leics
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2007

We were recommended to stay at Launceston Villa by friends and had read the reviews here. We were not disappointed-From the moment we made contact to the time we reluctantly had to leave, we were made to feel very welcome.
The house and rooms were beautifully appointed, We had all we needed-including a treat of chocolates on the pillows!
The breakfast was hearty and well cooked-kept us going for most of the day.
The best feature of this B and B though,is the warmth and friendliness of the proprieters-Gill and Martin.
We hope hope staying again very soon.

  • Liked — friendliness,modern clean rooms
  • Disliked — pass
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Elsa64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2007

Launceston Villa is Whitby's newest secret! It was a real pleasure to stay in such a beautifully run B&B. Gill and Martin made us feel like part of the family without being intrusive. The rooms are tastefully decorated with really comfortable beds- a must after a hard day's sightseeing. Breakfast is at a sensible time and was excellent - no greasy sausages here!

Gill and Martin also made several suggestions for places to visit and eat, which was so helpful. We found beautiful places to walk and some great restaurants. A big plus has to be the parking too! It was great to be able to leave the car and walk into Whitby itself in under 10 minutes, yet still be in easy driving distance of the most wonderful countryside.

We had a very relaxing stay with Gill and Martin and I cannot praise them highly enough. They really do make your stay stress free. We'll be booking again!

  • Liked — homely and comfortable
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinks105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorks
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2007

Excellent accommodation and good food. Add to that the warm welcome from Gill and Martin and you have a great choice for a break in Whitby.
Other plus points; walking distance to town centre and private car park.
We'll certainly be back.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank HD6Brighouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnoldswick
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2007

My husband and I stayed at Launceston Villa for 4 nights bed and breakfast in August 2007.

We were given a warm welcome from hosts Gill and Martin.

The room was very clean and modern with plenty of hanging and drawer space.

The breakfast was good and plenty of it!

Gill and Martin went out of their way to provide a good choice of breakfast

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — size of the shower room
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2007

A wonderful weekend as a couple. Thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality offered by Gill and Martin Prescott at this ideally suited bed and breakfast. Friendly and extremely welcoming but allowing a relaxed stay with advice at hand if required. High standard of facilities and beautiful decor with many nice touches. Fabulous breakfast which certainly set us up for the day ahead. Located 10 minutes walk from the town centre, with a route via Whitby gardens if desired. Launceston Villa has it's own car park which is most useful, and a preferable alternative to town centre parking. Plenty to do in Whitby itself for a weekend, welcoming fishing town with superb seaside atmosphere. Many places of interest in the surrounding area for a longer stay.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Villafans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2007

We (a family of four) stayed here recently and were very impressed by the level of service and thoughtfulness of the Villa House operation.

No strangers to the area we found the B&B easily and were made quickly welcome and shown to our neat, modern and immaculate rooms. Again thoughtfully moved to be both on the same floor. Tea and coffee making faciilties and a DVD players were in both rooms, and these were regularly replenished, as were towels etc.

Overall this place was the perfect stress-free relaxing base for our trip. I am not veryw ell-travelled, and always cautious of superlatives, but this was the best B&B I have stayed in. Highly recommended.

[--]

  • Liked — the thoughtfulness - all cleaned and taken care of
  • Disliked — the steps but no real obstacle...
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank captaincookYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Dene B&B
Park Dene B&B
#17 of 151 in Whitby
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#5 of 151 in Whitby
324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heathfield Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#20 of 151 in Whitby
603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elford Guest House
Elford Guest House
#53 of 151 in Whitby
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bats and Broomsticks
Bats and Broomsticks
#39 of 151 in Whitby
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Launceston Villa Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Launceston Villa Bed & Breakfast

Property: Launceston Villa Bed & Breakfast
Address: 24 Prospect Hill, Whitby YO21 1QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Edwardian home ample parking excellent breakfast close to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Launceston Villa Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed Breakfast Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing