We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smashing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Launceston Villa Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #44 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Smashing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Spent three nights here in August.
The staff were extremely helpful and attentive, however left you alone to do your own thing.
This B & B was absolutely spotless and the rooms were first class with everything you could wish for, (glasses, corkscrew, plenty of tea, coffee etc)
The breakfasts were superb and set you up nicely for a days wandering.
We had a room at the front of the house which was a wee bit noisy due to the busy road, but it wasn't a big issue.
The house is ideally situated about 10 mins pleasant walk from the town center, and has plenty of private parking.
It has been a while since I had stayed in a B & B but this made it an extremely pleasurable experience.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the rear which should be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhonhaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
161
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in July. Our room was at the front of the house, so was a little noisy as we did have the window open as it was so hot. There was a fan provided in the room, but we were having a heat wave at the time so probably isn't normally an issue. The room was spotless, as was the bathroom, although the later was very small. A wonderful English breakfast cooked by Donna which was delicious, worth a return visit for the breakfast alone!. A short stroll to the town centre so very convenient too.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jaxw2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

This was one of the best accomodations we have stopped in.It was easy to find and on arrival we were helped with our luggage.Our room was equipped with everything you could wish for(including bottle openers and glasses).There was even a selection of DVDs to choose from.The bathroom,although small,was spotless as was the whole house.Jamie and Donna obviously take great pride in their house,and cater for every possible need.It will be worth going back just to eat the breakfast.We cannot anticipate finding anywhere any better.Whitby is made all the better for having this place to stay in.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

As you open the door the lovely clean smell hits you. The b & b is spotlessly clean. The rooms are nicely decorated with tv and free wifi. Fantastic bathroom extras even down to cotton buds! Very friendly people. Excellent breakfast, as much toast, cereal, fruit etc. as you can eat plus a full english with black pudding. Don't think this can be beaten

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillMasefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I wanted a nice couple of days in Whitby with my wife and was lucky enough to find this first class accommodation.I could not fault the property for décor,cleanliness or service.The owners Jamie and Donna were friendly,helpful and obviously take pride in owning their guesthouse and wait till you try the full breakfast.It is little wonder that they have few vacancies.
Whitby centre is a pleasant 15 minute walk away.

Room Tip: If you have problems climbing stairs try for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rufuschuckabutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Donna and Jamie made our visit to Whitby a fantastic break.
Breakfast was a delicious start to the day - any requests were catered for. The room was immaculate, no shortage of hangers and wardrobe space. Wi-Fi very useful, as were the tips for local attractions.
Short walk down into the town, past the lovely Pannett Park.
The walk back took a few minutes longer, but we had usually had a busy day walking as we left the car in the car park behind the house, plenty of room there.
Truly an unforgettable holiday

Room Tip: Rooms at the front look out on the road, but this quietens down after 8.30 pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Donna and Jamie have formed a wonderful B&B with nice rooms, a great cooked breakfast and a personal atmosphere with laughter and quick remarks making you feel at home.

The B&B has got private parking, and the town center offering a great variaty of restaurants and shops is within walking distance.

It's a perfect place to stay enjoying Whitby or exploring the wonderful countrysite of The North Yorkshire Moors.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peder Hesselaa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.6 mi away
Rosewood Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Park Dene B&B
Park Dene B&B
#16 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cook's Quarters
Cook's Quarters
#37 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crescent Garden House
Crescent Garden House
#11 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#115 of 152 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Broomfield House
Broomfield House
#50 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Launceston Villa Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Launceston Villa Bed & Breakfast

Property: Launceston Villa Bed & Breakfast
Address: 24 Prospect Hill, Whitby YO21 1QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Edwardian home ample parking excellent breakfast close to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Launceston Villa Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed Breakfast Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing