We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Abbey House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abbey House
Ranked #39 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Whitby
halifax in england
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here last night (02-05-14) in order that we could see Big Country play Whitby Pavilion. First off its approx 10-15 min walk from the venue and the 199 steps leading from the town to the house are not hard. The accomodation has parking at no extra charge, very friendly staff, a warm welcome and we were in a private room. I thought the place was clean and tidy. We paid 4.99 for the breakfast which was good value, cereal, hot food, fruit, yoghurt. Really enjoyed the stay. One word of warning, after the gig it was about midnight when we got back, we were sober, there are no lights outside (are if there are, they didnt have them turned on) so if you have a few be careful as i believe it could be quite easy to fall and hurt your self.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    5
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend at the end of jan with my partner. The location is fantastic and the views are really nice too. The room was good value for money, although they should mention on the yha website that you need to pay £2 to hire a towel! IF we had known that we would have brought our own I think :)
The major issue for me was cleanliness, the walls are scuffed and skirting boards dirty and the bathroom hadn't been cleaned very well at all, which was disappointing as the place has so many other good points.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

You can't beat the views or the price for this place. Everyone is very friendly. It is clean, has a nice tea room and the views are simply to die for. The location is great, situated next to the Abbey and we could walk all around town from here easily. Parking is pretty easy too.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Essex, U.K.
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The YHA Abbey House (adjacent to the Abbey) runs a tea room/cafe. We've always found staff very friendly and helpful. We were only in need of coffee and cake on the couple of visits this past week but there is hot food on offer too. There are picnic tables/seats outside and, on a good day, there is nothing better than to sit outside and look down over Whitby.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Really blown away by the location of this hostel and as first timers with YHA we were surprised to feel so at ease. The whole concept really works we enjoyed a beautiful house, wonderful location and comfortable accommodation with the added freedom of choosing when and how we wanted to eat and relax. No more stopping at cafes and spending £15 on tea and biscuits for us!! Brilliant, thanks Abbey House!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K8eeabbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

My family and I have just spent a night at this gorgeous hostel! The location is fantastic, right epnext to the Abbey, the staff were great and Abbey House itself make you feel like you have stepped back in time! Would recommend a stay here if you are visiting Whitby.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Stayed her on 15th December 2012 so it was very quite. Would highly recommend this hostel. Fantastic location, lovely staff, clean comfortable rooms, excellent value. A stay at the hostel gives free entry to the Abbey which is really worth using. A tour round the Abbey is absolutely fastinating. I don't really know what else to say. I'm not a very experienced hoseller but, as a pensioner on a tight budget, I will certainly be using them again and, in fact, have joined the YHA.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,047 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#4 of 53 in Whitby
274 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Netherby House
Netherby House
#104 of 151 in Whitby
60 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
251 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sandsend
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey House

Property: Abbey House
Address: Abbey Lodge East Cliff, Whitby YO22 4JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Whitby
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing