We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaview Guest House
Ranked #13 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I have had the pleasure of visiting The Seaview on 2 occasions over a 3 year period, It is run by Brian and Abby who are great hosts, returning somewhere is an indictment in itself and once again I was not disappointed. We stayed in room 7 as requested which affords views towatd the Abbey with binoculars provided to enjoy the experience. The breakfast menu is really good with quality ingredients being used, but then I wouldn't expect less from this class act, our room had been re decorated and re carpeted etc and was very clean and well presented, its the small touches like bottled water being available in the small fridge provided, fresh fruit, tea/coffee, biscuits, and Brians homemade parkin, very nice. Its very close to town, being a 5 minute stroll. Its it and miss whether you are able to get parked, we had arrived in a particularly busy day with parking outside and the surrounding streets at a premium, so parked in the pay and display about 5 mins walk away, then moved it a few hours later to the parking area outside when spaces became available, great place to stay and I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yaxleymartyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Just returned from our first weekend at the Seaview, it lived up to all expectations. Brian and Abby have built up an excellent reputation on trip advisor and justifiably so. Had a great weekend, we will return!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

What a wonderful welcome we were given in this little Guest house. We managed to park outside on a busy weekend in Whitby. We were greeted by Brian who was baking gingerbread. It tasted delicious when we ate some with a cup of tea in our room a little later. There was an array of beverages in our room along with fresh milk and a fridge, which was great for wine and beer. The room was spotless and the view from room 7 was fantastic looking towards the Abbey and sea. We met Abby next day at breakfast who was attentive and helpful. He and Brian are the friendliest people and made us feel at home. The breakfast was fantastic, Every type of fresh fruit was available and thick greek yogurt. We followed this with a cooked breakfast, clearly made from quality local ingredients. The bacon and sausages were particularly good. The preserves, home made by Brian are a must. Yum!!! All in all this is great place for a weekend away. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This was our first time and could not fault our stay. The room was spotless with amazing views of the abbey and with nice touches of binoculars, bowl of fresh fruit, and homemade parkin. The breakfast was excellent with a variety of options, the homemade preserves being an added delight. Brian & Abby were great hosts very friendly & informative and made us very welcome. Keith and Jackie.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kth532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I'm writing this on behalf of my parents (they love staying here and would like to leave a review but don't have a computer). They stayed for 2 nights this week and once again were so impressed by the whole experience- the friendliness of Brian and Abby, the high standards, the cleanliness and attention to detail, etc
Dad always has the full English breakfast and he says that it couldn't be better (high quality), Mum had scrambled egg on toast (it was nicely shaped with parsley on the top not just dolloped on)! They would always stay here when visiting Whitby and have done so for the last 4+ times.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TW6671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This is our fourth stay here, spent two nights there for Valentines. As always the guesthouse was spotless and offer everything you could want. The service is excellent and the owners are always happy to share their knowledge on what to do and where to go. We do have a favourite room but I'm not going to say which one as it will become to popular! Brian cooks a lovely breakfast, the beds are comfy and the linen is lovely and fresh. My tips for absolute perfection would be for the room to have been a bit warmer and fluffier towels.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unit1083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have just visited for the third time. We were, as ever, made extremely welcome by hosts Brian and Abby. Great to know that we can always rely on Seaview to provide first rate hospitality. Mandy and Mark

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlesodgson1885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,093 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandpiper House
Sandpiper House
#10 of 152 in Whitby
644 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#5 of 152 in Whitby
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Guest House

Address: 5 East Crescent, Whitby YO21 3HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Seaview Guest House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing