We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It may be cold outside...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Number Seven Guest House
Ranked #40 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It may be cold outside...”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

It may be cold outside but you can always guarantee a warm welcome at Number 7 from Lynne and George. The location is spot on and we were in room 6 again for the twice yearly 'Goth Weekend' an unmissable weekend for colour and costumes. From our nice bedroom with cosy bed, nice shower and TV, you can get great views of the Abbey and harbour. Breakfast was great with good choices, my wheat free requirement was well catered for. No dentist waiting room breakfast atmosphere here! George and Lynne make for great hosts and you can guarantee a laugh and an update on whats going on in Whitby. Its always clean and tidy and the whole place has a great vibe - great all year but even more in keeping for this weekend - link to the Bram Stoker Novel - Dracula. The only bump in the night though was head hitting pillow. great again! ,

Room Tip: rooms at the front have great views. all are very cosy and have nice decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doctor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    22
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
16
102
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed at number 7 for 2 nights on Friday and Saturday in room 6. This is on the top floor up several flights of stairs.We got a warm and friendly welcome from Lynne and were issued with our keys and directions to our room. 3 key system for entry through main outside, hallway and bedroom door. Hallway, stairs and landings nice and clean as was our bedroom. Big comfortable double bed, flat screen television, 2 small chairs, wardrobe and draw space for 2 was ample. Great view through window over abbey and river mouth. En suite bathroom with shower cubical, sink and toilet. Not much knee room at loo due to closeness of sink and would imagine larger people would have to sit sideways a bit, but not too much trouble for us. It was a bit chilly outside so the bedroom was a bit cold late afternoon as the heating didn't come on till 5.
Breakfast cooked by Lynne was lovely. George busy all the time acting as waiter for tea, coffee and toast. Great selection, full english etc. My wife liked her egg and bacon well done and this request was no trouble at all. George always chatty and cheerful while buzzing back and forward from the kitchen and dining room. The dining room is immaculate. One thing that niggled us a bit was the closeness of the tables. I understand that the dining room has to cater for all rooms, but you were very close to strangers while eating and the time scale for breakfast is short, so everybody seems to come down together and maybe thats why it seemed a bit congested.
Parking is a free for all outside number 7 and in the immediate streets, this is a characteristic for Whitby, but we didn't have any trouble on both days.
As we said Lynne and George are great friendly hosts and we had an enjoyable stay.
Would we return?
Definately.

Room Tip: Front rooms have all the views and there are also 4 poster bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayfield005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Room was extremely clean and tidy, hosts George and Lynne were very friendly. Enjoyed George's Yorkshire humour at breakfast, and his food was excellent. Location is brilliant too. All in all, I would highly recommend it and will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Went to Whitby for "folk week" first stay at Number 7, It was Ideally situated, clean comfortable rooms, a variety of choice for breakfast, friendly sociable atmosphere. Lynne & George were great hosts, Look forward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rapopapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

just spent 3 nights at no7 for the third year running would not stay any were else in Whitby. George and Lynne are fantastic hosts the rooms are clean what a great breakfast this is a non smoking guest house which is great looking forward to our next stay Lynne and George make you feel part of the family.

Room Tip: choose number 5 or number 6 room great views of abbey and harbour great on the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeSharonSuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

An experience we will be doing again. George and Lynne were fab hosts. The building is spotlessly clean. And the location is stunning. couldn't have wished for a better stay, just unfortunate that we had to come home so early

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We have been coming to Whitby for years and love the place - finding Number 7 is the icing on seaside cake. Lynne and George run a great place - great food and always clean and comfy rooms. We have recurring bookings for the twice yearly Goth weekends and also try to squeeze in extra weekends too. George and Lynne are always friendly and game for a laugh. They have consistently gone OTT when coping with our Goth weekend requirements. loads of costumes and kit to fit in. comfy rooms some with great views over the harbor. and then there is the Bram Stoker/Dracula connection too. we would recommend Number 7 for a great stay in Whitby. They go the extra mile - when my wife had been very ill and came up to stay just after coming out of hospital George and Lynn could not be more helpful sorting taxi's and transport.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doctor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#22 of 152 in Whitby
566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ellies Guesthouse
Ellies Guesthouse
#19 of 152 in Whitby
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abbotsleigh
Abbotsleigh
#4 of 152 in Whitby
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#3 of 152 in Whitby
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#7 of 152 in Whitby
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth House
Elizabeth House
#3 of 51 in Whitby
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Seven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Seven Guest House

Property: Number Seven Guest House
Address: 7 East Crescent, Whitby YO21 3HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Seven Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Number Seven Guest House Hotel Whitby
Number 7 Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing