We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“" Whitby Reward "” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Number Seven Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Number Seven Guest House
Ranked #43 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“" Whitby Reward "”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed for one night after moving from a very unsatisfactory and much more expensive hotel further up the coast . This turned out to be a great find .A warm and friendly place to stay and a room with fantastic views plus a good choice for breakfast with Yogart , a nice selection of fresh fruit as well as the full English for those who wish !This really made our stay in Whitby very enjoyable and we would hope to return .We also looked at the 2 bedroom cottage @ number seven which is of an exceptionally high standard for a rental property and looks a good place to stay .
A&R

Room Tip: room one first floor is only small but the views are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    22
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
15
101
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Recently stayed with my 22 month old son, and was made to feel very welcome. Lynne and Geaorge are brilliant hosts, and they were great with my little boy. Ideally located for a scenic walk into town, probably needed after a superb breakfast! Many thanks for a lovely stay, and see you in October…..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma102010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Aycliffe
Level Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Average guest house, not great breakfast, but very good hosts and the maid was a credit to the place. The view from the room was superb ,the room was ok nice bed, but small space, had to sit on the toilet sideways and no lock on the toilet door. We have stayed it a lot of bnbs in Whitby and some were better some worse. Would we stay here again? Yes, but we would look for another one first.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Hindmarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

It may be cold outside but you can always guarantee a warm welcome at Number 7 from Lynne and George. The location is spot on and we were in room 6 again for the twice yearly 'Goth Weekend' an unmissable weekend for colour and costumes. From our nice bedroom with cosy bed, nice shower and TV, you can get great views of the Abbey and harbour. Breakfast was great with good choices, my wheat free requirement was well catered for. No dentist waiting room breakfast atmosphere here! George and Lynne make for great hosts and you can guarantee a laugh and an update on whats going on in Whitby. Its always clean and tidy and the whole place has a great vibe - great all year but even more in keeping for this weekend - link to the Bram Stoker Novel - Dracula. The only bump in the night though was head hitting pillow. great again! ,

Room Tip: rooms at the front have great views. all are very cosy and have nice decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doctor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed at number 7 for 2 nights on Friday and Saturday in room 6. This is on the top floor up several flights of stairs.We got a warm and friendly welcome from Lynne and were issued with our keys and directions to our room. 3 key system for entry through main outside, hallway and bedroom door. Hallway, stairs and landings nice and clean as was our bedroom. Big comfortable double bed, flat screen television, 2 small chairs, wardrobe and draw space for 2 was ample. Great view through window over abbey and river mouth. En suite bathroom with shower cubical, sink and toilet. Not much knee room at loo due to closeness of sink and would imagine larger people would have to sit sideways a bit, but not too much trouble for us. It was a bit chilly outside so the bedroom was a bit cold late afternoon as the heating didn't come on till 5.
Breakfast cooked by Lynne was lovely. George busy all the time acting as waiter for tea, coffee and toast. Great selection, full english etc. My wife liked her egg and bacon well done and this request was no trouble at all. George always chatty and cheerful while buzzing back and forward from the kitchen and dining room. The dining room is immaculate. One thing that niggled us a bit was the closeness of the tables. I understand that the dining room has to cater for all rooms, but you were very close to strangers while eating and the time scale for breakfast is short, so everybody seems to come down together and maybe thats why it seemed a bit congested.
Parking is a free for all outside number 7 and in the immediate streets, this is a characteristic for Whitby, but we didn't have any trouble on both days.
As we said Lynne and George are great friendly hosts and we had an enjoyable stay.
Would we return?
Definately.

Room Tip: Front rooms have all the views and there are also 4 poster bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayfield005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Room was extremely clean and tidy, hosts George and Lynne were very friendly. Enjoyed George's Yorkshire humour at breakfast, and his food was excellent. Location is brilliant too. All in all, I would highly recommend it and will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Went to Whitby for "folk week" first stay at Number 7, It was Ideally situated, clean comfortable rooms, a variety of choice for breakfast, friendly sociable atmosphere. Lynne & George were great hosts, Look forward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rapopapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#2 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellies Guesthouse
Ellies Guesthouse
#19 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Waverley
The Waverley
#25 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abbotsleigh
Abbotsleigh
#3 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth House
Elizabeth House
#3 of 48 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Seven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Seven Guest House

Property: Number Seven Guest House
Address: 7 East Crescent, Whitby YO21 3HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Seven Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Number Seven Guest House Hotel Whitby
Number 7 Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing