We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little cafe”
Review of Rusty Shears

Rusty Shears
Ranked #9 of 228 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$14
Cuisines: British, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 14 November 2018

We wanted somewhere that was dog friendly for a quick lunch. We passed this place and it looked very warm and welcoming. Inside it was quite quirky , very well decorated and had the feel of an old fashioned (but modern) tea room. The staff were very friendly and efficient. We just had soup and crusty bread which was delicious . They had a good choice of meals both hot and cold. There was also a counter full of yummy cakes (forget about the calories). It is on Silver Street which is a narrow little street that you could easily miss but the place was quite full which speaks for itself .If you want something a bit different try this place. Will definitely go back.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 1,201 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2018

We had lunch here in September on a very blustery, cold day.

The atmosphere is lovely and cosy. We had a wrap and a side salad. The barman was incredibly knowledgeable about the drinks on offer and we each ordered a very large gin.

I'd recommend to anyone !

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank ymdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018

If you just want a snack there rare beef sandwiches are Excellent and they have a great Choice of home made Gins there cakes are superb

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank phillsykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018

Read reviews on here so popped in for lunch during our stay in Whitby. It's a very quirky place but in a good way, we went for a sharing platter washed down by a few glasses of gin selected, with help of waitress, from the huge selection on offer in their gin menu.
Definitely recommend a visit

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank mike67j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

I had scrambled egg and a bacon ciabatta sandwich, generous with the bacon.
Scrambled egg delicious, soft and creamy eggs.

All our breakfast were were really nice. Each of the family had something different and enjoyed it.

Don’t sell a full English but serve a variety the contents in a different mix. Great you can pick and choose what you want. A little more unusual and eclectic

Coffee was lovely better than costa. Tea and coffee served in vintage mugs and cups, even the coffee.

Staff helpful if a service is a little slow.

Environment eclectic with a variety of gins around the room, great for those enjoy the more vintage look.

I would definitely return Thank you

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rusty Shears also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Rusty Shears? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing