We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby tired old Salmon left bad taste in our mouths.”

The Salmon Leap Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Salmon Leap Hotel
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This was the first time that we had revisited the hotel in Sleights.We both noticed how quiet the hotel was.Then we found that we were the only guests staying there in mid March.
The owner seemed surprised that we were tourists and asked us if we were there for the potash or just enquiring about it,.
We looked at each other and nodded our heads in a negative way.
We first stayed at the venue back in 2003 just before we got married and enjoyed that stay.
The hotel hadn't changed one jot in the time we had been away.It looked tired and need of a revamp.Still no tv in the en-suite bedroom 10 years on and absolutely no hot running water.
The breakfast was truly awful,the worst i have ever had to sample,fatty sausages,under cooked bacon again with too much fat and worst still was the yucky Black pudding.
It seemed everytime we went to the bar the owner was busy on the phone or sampling his own food.
I never at anytime felt relaxed as when we departed or arrived back at the hotel he seemed to appear from a corner asking how our day was.
He also insisted on us leaving our key at the hotel which seemed strange as we were the only paying guests staying there.
Later on in the week we both went in to the games area and were enjoying a nice drink when suddenly the owner decided to put the television on with a music channel destroying our peaceful chat.
I wasn't very pleased with his actions so i turned it down,he then enquired what had happened to the tv and promptly put it back on again.
As you can imagine we simply left our drinks and went out to a nearby pub (The Plough),a charming little pub at th4e end of the village.
My advice for anybody who is thinking of staying at "THE SALMON LEAP" is as follows -
1.Don't expect value for money it's a dear do at 75 pounds per room
2.The views aren't good though there is a smoking facility on the balcony outside room 12.
3.If you like a trip in to the past it's just the job,everything about the place reminded me of the 1970's.
4,There's a bingo crowd and domino group which use the hotel during weeday evenings and live entertaintment on a Saturday evening.
I think without these features the owner might as well pack in his business as it probably keeps his business ticking along.
A 3 star hotel experience it was not, unsure how it was rated this high.

Room Tip: Always review other traveller's experience but everyone sees things differently in the cold ligh...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for The Salmon Leap Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2012

Booked a weekend away, through laterooms.com, and all details went through, availability etc. Received a phone call at 10pm 3 nights before stay to say forgotten to take availability off the internet as the owner was in Amarica.
Is this the type of hotel you want to do business with, one that can't manage their own activities let alone their guests. Will not be recommending to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Karl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Had a nice stay here,weather was very good,staff great,we went on our scooter which adrian locked in his garage for us every night at no extra charge.the hotel is in a nice area with the railway at bottom of lane and river just beyond that, nice big lawn and beer garden.Would stay here again. East coast a beutiful place.

Room Tip: Family room on top floor nice big shower.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebull58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This was a last minute booking so we were grateful to be booked in, when everywhere else was fully booked for the weekend. As has been said elsewhere, the hotel is a little dated but is very clean. We stayed in the top floor family room that 'had recently been renovated'. Some of the 'renovations' left me thinking, as to why it had been done that way !. Very good shower in the bathroom but no bath. Clean bed linen and towels. Surely a TV is a must in a room these days, especially a family room where someone has to stay when the kids have gone to bed. All in all a comfortable nights sleep. Nice to be able to have a coffee in the morning but the teabags were out of date by 6 months !. The landlord and staff were very welcoming friendly and helpful. Good selection for breakfast in the morning but would take the 'full english breakfast' with a pinch of salt.
This is a no frills hotel which is slightly overpriced for what you get.
All in all after what I've said, we would stay again.
PS a Very good pint of Copper Dragon Golden Pippin served in the bar

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

A very dated hotel, but spotlessly clean. Our double room on the top floor, only had 1 chair and no bedside cabinets. The en suite had a fairly new suite and was efficient but had a plastic folding door to the room stuck in places with masking tape. No television, kettle was very old and came with a plastic measuring jug to get water from the corner hand basin. Breakfast very nice and staff friendly and helpful. Definitely a no frills place and overpriced.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are small with sloping roofs.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppy187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

on arrival found the landlord & staff very friendly nothing was to much trouble, the hotel is clean abit dated to be honest,no televisions in the rooms, would go back because of the friendly staff.
the location was very good right next to the railway station, & only a couple of miles from whitby,
breakfast was outstanding all freshly cooked to order , i say again i would definitatly go back

mr & mrs jones 12/11/11

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graham j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Have just had four nights stay which we found very relaxing, landlord was very pleasant and helpful, as were staff very friendly, room spotless and very comfortable bed everything we needed was available. Good breakfast to set you up for the day, location
perfect for sightseeing, also train station and bus stop on door step.
Would definately stay there again.

John & Maureen Isle of Man

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,081 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
851 reviews
2.6 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
635 reviews
2.5 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#18 of 20 in Whitby
217 reviews
2.8 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salmon Leap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salmon Leap Hotel

Address: 6 Coach Road | Sleights, Whitby YO22 5AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range: £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Salmon Leap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing